We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody do not recommend this hotel.”
Review of Eben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eben Hotel
Ranked #239 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was on a trip organized. Hotel judge very bad. Ugly decor, like the 70s, rude staff, dirty rooms and bathrooms, dilapidated and broken showers, torn curtains, dirty linen, very old and empty fridge, TV channels only in Hungarian, the rest of the channels available, the general smell in the corridors and in the rooms, especially when we were at dinner, our rooms have been robbed, and the service in general this is not taken over and did not want to call the police (there were no signs of forced entry, the person must have the keys to the rooms) as a guard the portfolios .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spend a weekend in Budapest in this hotel. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. The price was very reasonable. The included dinner was nothing special but OK. The a la carte dishes were looking better. Breakfast was really good from my point of view, especially the lecso. Location is not in the city center but metro very near. Unfortunately metro is not running at night. Public parking is also available in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is old. The receptionists don't help. I asked for the bill of the room and he didn't want to show me the bill for every thing i had to pay. When he did after i insisted he had charged 4 nights when i had to pay for 3 nights. I told him to control and i was wright, but he didn't say sorry.
The bill was in hungarian and it was difficult to understand.
I would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosamystica80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

very very basic hotel ! I have been 2 nights and the bathroom was never cleaned .
Breakfast very poor , dirty room and tablecloths , no wifi and the pc in the lobby unusable for the slowness , just the price is acceptable but you can find better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gozzinig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

No luxury and no perfect service, but good prices. OK to spend night or two. Location is not problem at all, 5 minutes by foot to metro station Örs vezér tere, and fast, comfortable and frequent trains will bring you in the very centre in 10 minutes. Around metro station there are plenty of markets, from enormous megamalls till small minimarkets.

Rooms of hotel are clean but a bit outdated, hotel needs some renovation. Small choice of TV-channels. Breakfast is good, normal choice of cold and hot snacks. Managers at reception desk are not very friendly, but do their work well.

Two hints:

1) Near the metro station Örs vezér tere is located terminus of local railroad (HÉV) to Gödöllő, so if you plan to visit this place you have no need to go to the center for catch the train.

2) It is very inconvenient to reach the hotel from airport by metro. Bus 200E from airport arrives to the metro station Kőbánya-Kispest in the south-east outskirts. So first you have to take long metro ride from south-east to the center, then change lines and take the ride almost back - to the east of city. Prearrange hotel transfer is much more convinient or you can catch a bus 85 from Kőbánya-Kispest to Örs vezér tere. Buses are frequent, depart from the same bus terminal where arrives bus from airport. Bus ride takes about 20 minutes, much faster than metro..

In brief, this hotel is OK for not long stay, but if you are lucky to find for the same price more modern and more centrally located hotel - stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andres16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I visited Budapest in July for a long weekend and thought this place was fine. I had read in some reviews that the staff were taciturn but I engaged with them from the start and didn't have any problems at all. Location: it's only a short walk to the main metro station, which is next to a modern shopping mall. There are a few bars between the metro and the hotel and in the evenings after sightseeing I played pool with the locals and had a great time. The metro is about £2 return to the centre of Budapest and only takes 15 minutes. The room: clean and spartan: not ultra modern or luxurious but I didn't expect it to be and had no complaints. The Food. I thought the breakfast was fine if a little eclectic at times but none the worse for that. There are the usual cereals, fruit juices, ersatz sausages and bacon etc, and the scrambled egg was sprinkled with paprika which was interesting. One morning they had hot paprika sausages which I enjoyed, but they also had a stew which as a step too far for me. Had food in the evening too one night and this was fine as well. There is a small restaurant over the road from the hotel where I had cabbage and pigs trotters which wasn't bad. The bar in the hotel is fine too and I was plied with palinka by the barman. Anyway, I have no problems recommending this place for solo travellers on a budget or if you're getting your teeth pulled next door. If I was looking for a romantic weekend I'd go further into the city and go up-market, but this was fine for me.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Title says it all. Stay away from this place... if you want to see rats then go here. I was traveling alone when I saw this hotel while browsing online. I was looking for a place to stay and it was the one nearest my location. I actually thought that I had a good deal because price was cheap. I then realized that it was actually better if I stayed away from this hotel in the first place. Staff were not helpful, rooms were so-so, bathroom was filthy and I even saw one rat running after another. BAD!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Matus Hotel
Matus Hotel
#219 of 336 in Budapest
5 reviews
Zugló
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#260 of 336 in Budapest
58 reviews
Zugló
Szonyi Hotel
Szonyi Hotel
#129 of 336 in Budapest
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zugló
Veritas Hotel
Veritas Hotel
#238 of 336 in Budapest
92 reviews
Zugló
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#211 of 336 in Budapest
203 reviews
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eben Hotel

Address: Nagy Lajos Kiraly Utja 15-17, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Zugló
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $31 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eben Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Eben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eben Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing