We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOR GETTING AROUND”
Review of Eben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eben Hotel
Ranked #240 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR GETTING AROUND”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable and excellent for travelling around Budapest. There is a train bus right outdie the door and one stop takes you to the main terminal where you can either get the underground to the capital etc or get trolley bues or trams elsewhere. Also at the terminus, there are good shopping malls and a fantastic Ikea where if you are feeling a bit homesick this does the trick becuase its virtually the same as in England.. I had an unfortunate incident in Budapest onn my first night and the hotel went out of their way to help me. I had the best cheese toastie I have ever tasted in the world at this hotel. The only fault is the beds. They are rock hard and can give you back ache if you're prone to these kind of ailments. The hotel is used for Kreativ dentist patients and I can hihgly recommend it.to future patients of the clinic.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    35
    11
    14
See reviews for
9
20
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My boyfriend and me went on a Budapest tour and stayed at the Eben Hotel for bed and breakfast. The room was big, but there was no space to put away your luggage unless you unpack and store it in the closet. We had a TV (only a few programs worked) and a mini-bar. The bathroom wasn't too clean. We could see a few long hairs on the floor from previous costumers.
The hotel claims that they have Wi-fi all that you can access on every floor, but our connection wasn't too good although our foom was on 1st floor.
Breakfast was sorted as a buffet and was really good.
Eben is not located in the city centre, but metro station is a 5 min walk (approximately 8 min ride to Vaci street), and a tram station is right in front oh the hotel.

I will come again to this hotel because of it's price and position near the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaVale_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Have stayed here a number of times over the last 10 years .Hvae mainluy stayed because ogf dental treatment nearby at the Kreativ clinic,but having said that I would still enjoy coming if I wasnt a Dental customer.
It is situated very close to a good shopping Mall and neat to a metro station from where you can take trains every 10 minutes into the centre of the city,its only a 15 minute ride.As Hungary is not in the Euro its a bit cheaper than going to Eurozone countries. we enjoy coming here ,the hotel is basic but clean and tv in all the rooms.The restaurant is very good with a good selection of dishes on the menu for lunch and dinner,although the hot breakfast is a bit strange and they could perhaps not bother!all the staff are very welcoming and friendly and nearly all speak english.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Nice rooms, good for a 2 days trip. If you don't spend too much time in the room you're not interested in conditions. Good to go with your friends.

Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank janetutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The Hotel Eben is clean, with large rooms. Located only a moments' walk from a major bus/train/metro station, it is easy to travel to all areas of Budapest from this base (one can reach downtown on the metro in approx. 20 mins). Nice shopping mall and amenities near the bus station, though beware the area after dark.

The story of this hotel is one of unfulfiled potential. I have stayed there twice, each time for a week. The breakfast is hearty and varied, and the in-house bar and restaurant not expensive. The bar and waiting staff are mostly pleasant, and the cleaners do a nice job.

OK - here are my complaints. It's and old building and the decor has seen better days. Not a huge problem - it just needs a lick of paint to brighten up the rooms and public areas, and some bright, cheap and cheerful bedding. New shower curtains would transform the lovely large bathrooms. a few more English channels on the TV would be nice - they can manage to pick up plenty of German ones, so it would be nice if they thought of us Brits too!

Also, I realise that Hungary's tourist industry is still relatively new, and levels of service may not be quite as polished as other destinations. HOWEVER...some staff border on rudeness. I know this is not a universal problem in Hungary, as I have stayed in other hotels in Budapest, eg the Amadeus, and been overwhelmed by the friendliness and attention to detail. The Eben needs to up it's game a little. After such a positive experience at the Amadeus, I wouldn't personally choose to stay at the Eben again. For a similar rate, I would rather be greeted with a smile and treated politely!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esterhazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Enjoyed the review earlier that said for "for men who sleep alone at night" lol, very true!
Far from the hustle and bustle of downtown Budapest, nice, cheap, staff are friendly but it takes a while to warm to it. It cant be easy dealing with people who are visiting dentists here all the time. They could smile a bit more but I think thats more a Hungarian thing than it being especially relevant to this hotel. Thankfully the younger generations dont share the same chip as the elders. Im actually in this hotel now! Too much time on my hands between dental appointments, becoming an internet alicadoo with all this time.
Asked the girl in reception the other day if she could turn on the air con and she said that it wont be turned on in the hotel till the Summer months though its 20 degrees outside. She apologised so nicely it was impossible to complain. The economy wouldent be good in Hungary at the moment(bit like ourslves) so I can only assume they make savings in whatever way they can.
Yes, this is a nice place

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogfooddave2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I have spent the new year's eve at this hotel. My intention was to see Budapest during this, and it was a verry pleasent experience. Though this was the third time for me in this city it was absolutely amazing. The hotel is away from down town but well pozitioned near two malls, and close to the subway terminal.
The hotel room is kept clean ( everyday service) and has a basic furniture. A great breakfast full of choises. The staf are helpfull. In front of the hotel there is a tram passing by, and you may have some noise problem. If that doesn't bother you then it's all right, go book this hotel. You can take this tram to the final stop to one of the greatest thermal baths and have a great time, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#189 of 333 in Budapest
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matus Hotel
Matus Hotel
#218 of 333 in Budapest
5 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#241 of 333 in Budapest
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Veritas Hotel
Veritas Hotel
#225 of 333 in Budapest
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 333 in Budapest
1,108 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#234 of 333 in Budapest
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eben Hotel

Property: Eben Hotel
Address: Nagy Lajos kiraly utja 15-17, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eben Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eben Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing