We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"great location and excellent service"”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #155 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"great location and excellent service"”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

There are three reasons why I loved this hotel; the very reasonable price, the excellent location and the extremely helpful and friendly staff. It's definitely cheaper than other hotels in the area. It's just a stone's throw from the train station an the Westend shopping mall. The staff all speak English and always have time to talk to you in a very friendly and personal way. The rooms are rather large and clean and comfortable. I have been to Budapest several times now and this is my second stay at Hotel Metro. I'm so glad that I found this gem because it will be my hotel of choice when I visit Budapest in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juergen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
42
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worthing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week and found the staff friendly and helpful.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was very good ,altogether a good experience.Being so close to shops ,railway/trams & restaurants was excellent would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroNyugati, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great value and the recommendation!

We hope if you are coming to Hungary next time you will be our Guest again***

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel was in a good location, just 2 mins away from the main station, 15 mins walk to the city centre and main sights like the Margarite Island, Parliament, Opera..etc. Near to eateries and shops.
They gave us a firm double bed and a single bed as well for the 2 of us, and very clean sheets and toilet was excellent with working showers and hairdryer. Remember to bring your own toothbrush and paste. Only downside was we arrived with the weather at 37degrees and there was no air-conditioning! Thoroughly recommend this hotel for a budget.
Breakfast was good and no food poisoning, clean spread daily. Coffee was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiaong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room we stayed in was very clean, spacious and comfortable enough. Bathroom was also very clean, with a good shower and hairdrier. There's no air conditioning, but windows can easily be opened to get some fresh air. Loved coffee/tea making facilities in the room. I've seen people complain about breakfast in this hotel, but I don't agree with them. It was simple, nothing fancy, but for a small three star hotel, breakfast spread was very good. The staff was polite and very friendly. Location is not central, but there's a train/metro station 2 min away and you can easily get wherever you want. The city center is 15-20 min on foot. The only negative side was that one night we had to wait for 15 min to enter the hotel, but it happened only once and there was only one receptionist there at the time so it wasn't such a problem. All in all, it was good value for money, we enjoyed our stay in Budapest and would probably choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The staff at the Metro were really friendly and very helpful, when advising on nearby attractions and directions. They were really warm and friendly and always keen to help. The room was very big, with a lovely bathroom with large spa style tub and separate shower.
My biggest complaint of the hotel ws a faulty hairdryer which had sparks shooting out of the base, whenever we tried to use it. We did report it to reception and were unable to get it fixed for the duration of our stay (4 days), which was a bit of a nuisance.

We did get a very good deal on the hotel so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaziaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a standard room, which was very clean, spacicous and with comfy bed. I appreciate very helpful and nice staff as well as convenient location close to train station

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel location near Nyugati train station made us consider this hotel in the first place. The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel had a nice ambiance. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable bed and a lot of storage space. Bathroom was clean and spacious.

The breakfast spread was the only weak point of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#122 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#127 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#102 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Elit
Hotel Elit
#146 of 333 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#57 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: Kresz Geza utca 1, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metro***The family atmosphere Hotel Metro*** located in the downtown of Budapest, has re-opened its doors in 2009 for the Guests.The refurbished hotel is located next to the WestEnd City Center and the Nyugati Railway Station in a quite side-street. The hotel offers 17 non-smoking rooms, a Superior room equipped with corner tub and infra sauna, and 2 apartments, providing pleasant environment both for tourists and for those on a business trip.All of the hotel rooms provide comfort and recreation for our Guests, as all are equipped with television, mini-bar, water kattle and tea, free WIFI service and a large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing