We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value for a 3 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #148 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for a 3 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel was in a good location, just 2 mins away from the main station, 15 mins walk to the city centre and main sights like the Margarite Island, Parliament, Opera..etc. Near to eateries and shops.
They gave us a firm double bed and a single bed as well for the 2 of us, and very clean sheets and toilet was excellent with working showers and hairdryer. Remember to bring your own toothbrush and paste. Only downside was we arrived with the weather at 37degrees and there was no air-conditioning! Thoroughly recommend this hotel for a budget.
Breakfast was good and no food poisoning, clean spread daily. Coffee was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiaong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
35
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room we stayed in was very clean, spacious and comfortable enough. Bathroom was also very clean, with a good shower and hairdrier. There's no air conditioning, but windows can easily be opened to get some fresh air. Loved coffee/tea making facilities in the room. I've seen people complain about breakfast in this hotel, but I don't agree with them. It was simple, nothing fancy, but for a small three star hotel, breakfast spread was very good. The staff was polite and very friendly. Location is not central, but there's a train/metro station 2 min away and you can easily get wherever you want. The city center is 15-20 min on foot. The only negative side was that one night we had to wait for 15 min to enter the hotel, but it happened only once and there was only one receptionist there at the time so it wasn't such a problem. All in all, it was good value for money, we enjoyed our stay in Budapest and would probably choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The staff at the Metro were really friendly and very helpful, when advising on nearby attractions and directions. They were really warm and friendly and always keen to help. The room was very big, with a lovely bathroom with large spa style tub and separate shower.
My biggest complaint of the hotel ws a faulty hairdryer which had sparks shooting out of the base, whenever we tried to use it. We did report it to reception and were unable to get it fixed for the duration of our stay (4 days), which was a bit of a nuisance.

We did get a very good deal on the hotel so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaziaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a standard room, which was very clean, spacicous and with comfy bed. I appreciate very helpful and nice staff as well as convenient location close to train station

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vendy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel location near Nyugati train station made us consider this hotel in the first place. The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel had a nice ambiance. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable bed and a lot of storage space. Bathroom was clean and spacious.

The breakfast spread was the only weak point of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kshanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logatec, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed there for two nights via a local Groupon clone offer. Got a welcome drink, a picnic bag each day and free parking. The furniture might have been a bit worn and the rooms pretty basic, but with a low price tag, it was a better than what we expected. They also set up a bed for our tiny one, which was thoughtful of them as we didn't request it specifically.
The location couldn't be better, really, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We're definitely going to stay there again if we ever come back to Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svajger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

good price. the most important thing i like in the hotel is very helpful n friendly staff.
good location to reach transportation.
i say thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fajar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
City Hotel Ring
#115 of 335 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#113 of 335 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#108 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: Kresz Geza utca 1, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metro***The family atmosphere Hotel Metro*** located in the downtown of Budapest, has re-opened its doors in 2009 for the Guests.The refurbished hotel is located next to the WestEnd City Center and the Nyugati Railway Station in a quite side-street. The hotel offers 17 non-smoking rooms, a Superior room equipped with corner tub and infra sauna, and 2 apartments, providing pleasant environment both for tourists and for those on a business trip.All of the hotel rooms provide comfort and recreation for our Guests, as all are equipped with television, mini-bar, water kattle and tea, free WIFI service and a large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing