We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
Ranked #93 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
An Accor traveler
1
Reviewed March 11, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 849 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

I choose this hotel as alternative for my Budapest bussines trip, as my usual hotel was full. The hotel service, room equipment and staff are OK, but location either for reach of public transport or travelling by car is not good. There is nothing to do in close surroundings (with except of one shopping center, which was closed at the time of my stay by police alarm).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for your review. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Clean hotel with continental breakfast. Small not to say compact bathrooms, very small toilete.
I paid 70 Euro/night and for this money I expect more. Front side could be noizy at night as opposite emergency ambulance car park are located.

Room Tip: look for special offers, do not book if standard price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianDamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Budapest City in. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MayaAthens314
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Novatel City for 6 nights while on a tourist visit to Budapest this pre Christmas - December 2013..

We use Novatel Hotels many times and found this to be a very nice hotel and well above the standards we get in London!

Located in Buda, it was good to be away from the busy Pest area across the water but using both the daytime and the excellent night buses. We were able to go all over the city ( Buda and Pest sides).

The advantage was we were staying in more of a residential area and with very few tourists which meant is was quite and much better quality.

Although its a little expensive with a certified taxi to at first travel from the airport which took about 40 minutes, the location is served so very well with public transport even at 01:00 in the morning!

Beware visiting the Parliament building due to reconstruction work, and very poor information as to when it open or closed as you can waste lots of time walking there and then finding its closed.

What helped enormously, were the ladies at the reception, who gave us good directions about trains, buses and even if we needed taxis and even Cecilia at the front desk who had knowledge about the folk dancing.

We ate our evening meals nearly all the time out of the hotel, in town and the restaurants offer such a good selection of dishes and wines and not really expensive - so go and enjoy!

Oh, by the way, the Hotel is referred to as Novatel City but everyone including the buses call it that - it is locally known as "CONGRESS" so be warned !

Also the men at reception worked VERY hard to do everything to help us even with a breakfast box and a hand with the cases.

Thank you all for speaking English and helping us - you are really a credit to Novatel Hotels and one of the finest reception operations we have used from all over Europe !!!!! (UK, France, Germany, Slovakia and Czech to name a few)

The slightly down side of the hotel that needs improvement was the dining staff at breakfast could not easily cope with foreign visitors and the very junior ones spent too much time being a bit playful near the doors to the kitchens even while we had our food which was not very nice and they really need more training when compared to upstairs service.

Another thing that need re assessment, is the hot food at breakfast - VERY VERY BORING and how about some boiled eggs for a change or some beans or grilled tomatoes - the rest of the buffet was excellent but the same routing, points to laziness on the Management of the catering and really this needs some new strategy. The system for small coffee cups rather than a mug size needs to be examined too.

The Bar upstairs and food from it was excellent and very attentive staff thank you.

The rooms were easy to access with a lift that had a pass key.

It included tea and coffee in the room, laptop size safe and free wifi all over the hotel - WELL DONE Budapest - that's one of the reasons we chose you as its not just the added cost that annoys me but the principle of offering value for money and the Novatel group in UK could learn from this - are you reading this ACCOR - stop charging for WIFI please !!!!

Also you can buy bus/train/tram transport cards from reception - 24 hours or 48 or even longer and saved LOADS of time getting these done beforehand. Oh yes, they do check you on the bus and train - and the train outside of the city which is NOT covered on this pass (different line) can you believe, they give you a discount of the fare if you show them the travel pass - Well done Budapest !!!!

Nearby are some sports facilities both in the hotel, spa and sauna and outside too but due to bad colds, we did not use them.

Nearby is a shopping mall so you will not be short of things from a Spar shop such as groceries to clothes, shoes, jewellery and even telephones. The is also a very good exchange bureaux to get Hungarian Forints and they do not charge very high commission like they do in town - thankfully - and they also give you a printed receipt so it quite above board !

You can explore Buda further by taking a tram or bus and also a train and go to Szentendre which is a riverside town, and a MUST as it's really gorgeous - Google it please !

Also there is a quite good Mammot shopping mall further up town via a tram and its got loads of shops but BEWARE the Ten Pin Bowling staff ripped us off as tourists do beware Mammot Bowling

We did have a slight problem of building renovation whilst there, as it woke us up early about 8 but the Deputy Manager took all step to stop this and even offered us upgraded rooms.

We even enjoyed the park outside the hotel too !

All together, we were rather sad to say goodbye after a very nice stay there and such welcoming staff !

We would be very happy to return again and probably will.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room when you make the booking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for this very detailed review. Your kind words are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Novotel Budapest City. I look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I often stay to Novotel City when I go to Budapest for business meetings.
If you come by car you can reach it at the end of the motorway coming from Balaton lake and it has a large outdoor reserved outdoor parking.
Rooms are in the Novotel standard but i would suggest to choose the superior room.
Hotel is generally well mantained even if in some part would need to be renovated.
Restaurant has a good local and international cuisine while near the hotel there is shopping/sport complex with a wide variety of restaurants.
Breakfast restaurant unfortunately is oftern very crowded due to turistic groups
Pool and sauna area is also fine.

Just take care of heavy traffic once you have to cross the Danube but it is all over Budapest the same problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Budapest City and I hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an hotel attached to an excellent conference centre, which is why I was there. The location of the hotel is not ideal for sightseeing and the ability of the reception staff to arrange taxis was poor. The first time, I gave up and didn't bother going out. On the final day I booked a taxi to go the airport for 4:30pm at 9am and at 4:45pm it still hadn't arrived. At 5pm when one did eventually arrive, the credit card machine was not working so I ended up paying cash in Euros. The room was the smallest room I have ever seen in a Novotel - the toilet and shower rooms were especially cramped and the air conditioning didn't cool the room (it might have been turned off centrally), so I had to sleep with the window open, which, thankfully, was not too noisy. The breakfast selection was large, but much of the food was of poor quality and the hot food was mostly cold on the four days that I stayed. Staff at the front desk appeared to be constantly harrassed. The conference centre and the staff running it were excellent, however.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Novotel Budapest City. I’ll look into this matter for you. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#63 of 334 in Budapest
1,737 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 334 in Budapest
1,862 reviews
Lion's Garden Hotel
#79 of 334 in Budapest
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Mamaison Residence Izabella Budapest
Danubius Hotel Arena
#115 of 334 in Budapest
1,493 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#131 of 334 in Budapest
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest City Hotel

Address: Alkotas utca 63 - 67, Budapest 1123, Hungary (Formerly Novotel Budapest Congress)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Budapest
#54 Business Hotel in Budapest
#63 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#88 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $78 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest City is the premier destination for leisure and business trips to Budapest. This 4 star hotel is surrounded by picturesque chestnut trees, the hotel is close to the city centre and the historic Castle District of Buda. Enjoy the Cafe Lounge restaurant and take time out in our complimentary wellness area with indoor swimming pool, fitness centre and sauna and enjoy bowling facility. Free WiFi internet in the entire property and secured onsite parking is available. Shopping center is in 2 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Budapest City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Congress Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Congress
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing