We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimpressive, but clean and fair value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Budapest City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Budapest City
Ranked #88 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressive, but clean and fair value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellently located to Budapest Congress Centre. Otherwise unimpressive, quite old business hotel and rooms that need some refurbishing (toilet and bathroom especially). No problem with cleanness though.
Breakfast good and variety of choice, hotel catering in the congress not so good.
Would chose again for an event in Budapest Congress Centre - Fair value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at Novotel Budapest Congress hotel in Hungary. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay, emphasizing the good location next to Budapest Congress Center, the large selection of the breakfast and the cleanliness as well. We have noted your comments about the quality of food during the conference. This is something I will be looking into personally.
Hope to see you again.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    328
    145
    37
    18
See reviews for
178
138
53
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
246 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room is small. The bathroom is small, no tub. The toilet which is in a separate cubicle is very small. On the bed, you will find soft and square pillows only used for sofas. I was so afraid i would wake up with a neck strain. And they give you disposable plastic glasses for brushing your teeth which one can hardly grasp. Am i in Hong Kong?
No. This is Budapest. This hotel was chosen by the travel agency as part of the tour package we had booked. Location is also very poor as there are numerous hotels near the City center.
One good thing is the free Apple computers which you can use at the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenThumb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the Novotel Budapest Congress hotel. I honestly hope we can serve you better in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a long stay for me @ the hotel (10nights) but never had any problems here. Breakfast was fine, fitness is fine, but I forget my swimsuit for the pool. Free wifi is very good, but takes some handling to get there. Sleeping was very nice for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Budapest Congress. Unfortunately we did not find any swimsuit at the swimming pool or at our wellness department. I hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Arrived quite late but checked in pretty quickly. Staff speak excellent English and are very polite and helpful. Rooms are light and modern and fairly large. All the ammenities you would expect in a modern hotel. Beds are comfy and I got a good nights sleep both nights. Rooms are a bit functional, this isnt a boutique hotel type feel at all, but for a business trip it was fine.

Ate in the restaurant on the first night - was OK, nothing to write home about. Breakfast was basic but not too bad.

The hotel is a fair way from the centre of Budapest but taxis are pretty cheap. Its quite a hike to the airport (about 28 euros in a cab). The reception staff are great at getting you a taxi quickly when you need one.

All in all I would say friendly, clean, efficient and functional - but lacks character. Decent value for money though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred_Pierce_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Budapest Congress and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I arrived late almost 8 o'clock. there was no difficulties for check in.
I would like to recommand novotel for stay in Busapest. hotel location is very nice to find out. It is very easy to find out. breakfast group trevellers are filled with restaurant.
not enough space and seat for my family so I have to wait my seat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sslee2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Budapest Congress in Hungary. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the breakfast, which we have since addressed.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice clean modern room. Free WiFi is excellent, also in the rooms and there are two large Apple computers in the lobby. Staff is very nice and helpful.

The hotel atmosphere was pleasant, with good decor and the rooms were spacious and well-appointed but with a very small bathroom. Storage place for clothes is a bit small, but there is nothing to complain about. Rooms facing the road, whilst giving a good view, were badly affect by police sirens, which were very loud to the point of being intrusive.

After a busy day in Congress Center it was very nice to visit cooling pool, sauna, Turkish steam, massage and bowling alley.

There are not many restaurants nearby on this side of the river - but enough for a few days stay. Buda is by far the quieter side of the river, but that suited me fine. With bus or tram quite close to city center.

It has all the typical comforts of a Novotel. Excellent breakfast, with a huge choice, but a pretty poor bar menu.
Liked it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evakama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Budapest Congress in and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
428 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is not a regular hotel/restaurant review - my team came here to organise courses (2 days) and a mid-size conference (210 paying participants; 3 days). As a site, Novotel was very good. In general, the staff was friendly and reliable; the accomodation was very good and the catering adequate. The only "minus" was the audiovisual staff that didn't speak English and if they did, they didn't keep their promises. The hotel bar was pleasant. An asset of Novotel Congress is that some smaller - and sometimes very good - restaurants are located nearby (see my separate reviews), obviating the need to take a cab when you're up to entertain yourself within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Budapest Congres in Hungary and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the audiovisual service up to your expectations. This is something I was looking into personally and the unfortunate situation was handled during the conference.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#56 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#113 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#84 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Gellert Hill
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
#112 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest City

Property: Novotel Budapest City
Address: Alkotas utca 63-67, Budapest 1123, Hungary (Formerly Novotel Budapest Congress)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Budapest
#54 Business Hotel in Budapest
#64 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#88 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest City 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest City is the premier destination for leisure and business trip to Budapest. This 4 star hotel is surrounded by picturesque chestnut trees, the hotel is close to the city centre and the historic Castle District of Buda. Enjoy the Café Lounge restaurant and take time out in our complimentary wellness area with indoor swimming pool, fitness centre and sauna and enjoy bowling facility. Free WiFi internet in the entire property and secured onsite parking is available. Shopping center is in 2 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Congress Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Congress
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing