We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
Ranked #94 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 21, 2012

when we travell with our children its our pleasure to stay at NOVOTELS .That hotel in Budapest was exellent , they made us feel very nice . It was very clean, the breakfast was very good ,the location was nice and the view fantastic . It will de our choice if we stay in Budapest again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandreadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Budapest Congress.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 857 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

the hotel boasts about being only 3 metro stops from the center. This is incredibly deceptive because it is a far walk to the metro stop so a trolly is a better idea. However the trolly requires that you take two different ones to get anywhere worth going. the hotel is flooded with Asians... so be prepared to hear and see nothing but that culture. the front desk is incredibly rude an unaccomidating. they do not admit to their faults. my boyfriend and I were sent far out of our way due to the front desk mans circle on our map. taxis are hideously expensive and instead of an apology for the extra 10 euros we had to waiste.. all I got was rude remarks followed by a cold shoulder as he walked away. I am appalled with the cold service here. no way should this hotel be 4 stars .


not to mention the mediocre breakfast is 50$ ....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pseagrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Customer,
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. Please feel free to email me on h0511-gm@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a special occasion for me, I usually don’t write reviews on the sites... maybe because I’m not a native English speaker… But this time I was so happy to receive back my lost mobile, therefore I would like to highlight (also here) how great the hotel team was.
During my last business trip, I lost my mobile – in my room, I thought. I noticed in the airport, just before the take off - no mobile to switch off… so the first think to do after landing was to contact the hotel team.
At one moment, the hotel staff might become tired of so many emails and calls and just could tell me that’s unfortunately lost. But they kept looking for it and also asked around. Finally the phone was found in the taxi which took me to the airport (very kind taxi driver).
You may say that’s something to expect from a hotel team, it could be included in their high class services but, from my point of view, they did some extra effort for me and it was successful!
A mobile is not a treasure itself... but the info you have inside, it become so valuable when you notice that was lost…
Thank you once again! That’s very kind of you, I'm very grateful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new_happy_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Novotel Budapest Congress.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was clean, spacious and well equipped. The room, Bar's and restaurant areas were nicely decorated and there was free wifi. All staff spoke good English. Food in particular was excellent. The rooms had a safe and minibar and the hotel itself is located near a very nice park and a shopping mall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Novotel Budapest Congress, in Hungary and we hope to see you on your next trip.
Best regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explorer4U2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

On first impressions it looks too large & generic to care - how wrong I was - friendly staff on arrival spoke perfect english and nothing was too much trouble - very nice room - good food and a bill for less than £80 including breakfast & dinner - I shall be returning

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChestersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Budapest Congress and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent 3 days here. The sofa in the room is totally inadequate for two (even small) children. You will need two rooms if you are more than 3 people. One of the girls at the front office was the rudest person I have ever met. Has no idea what customer service is. The parking is 15 Euro per night!! Ridiculous. It's not like the hotel is in the center of town and does not have lots of parking. The breakfast was good but too, too crowded when buses and conferences are on. I would never stay there again - probably somewhere closer to town is better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozchick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVinette, General Manager at Novotel Budapest City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Customer
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Feel free to email me on h0511-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Bruno Vinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Novotel Budapest Danube
#64 of 336 in Budapest
1,758 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 336 in Budapest
1,888 reviews
Zugló
Lion's Garden Hotel
Lion's Garden Hotel
#78 of 336 in Budapest
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,548 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#132 of 336 in Budapest
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Budapest City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Budapest City Hotel

Address: Alkotas utca 63 - 67, Budapest 1123, Hungary (Formerly Novotel Budapest Congress)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Budapest
#68 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#88 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $71 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Budapest City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Budapest City is the premier destination for leisure and business trips to Budapest. This 4 star hotel is surrounded by picturesque chestnut trees, the hotel is close to the city centre and the historic Castle District of Buda. Enjoy the Cafe Lounge restaurant and take time out in our complimentary wellness area with indoor swimming pool, fitness centre and sauna and enjoy bowling facility. Free WiFi internet in the entire property and secured onsite parking is available. Shopping center is in 2 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Budapest City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Budapest Congress Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Congress
Budapest Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing