We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but not the most modern design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
Ranked #104 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel but not the most modern design”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We travelled to Budapest as tourists to explore the city and we thought the location was nice because it made us discover another part of the city away from the tourist area. Still pretty near to the central parts and there were lots of public communication to choose from.

We stayed here for 5 nights, in an economy room. Nice clean big room with a fresh bathroom although the interior design was more modern in the 80's-90's. The air-condition worked good so it was comfortable air temperature at night!

Service was good and there was a bar open until midnight every day :) They had a gym and small swimming pool, quite cold though, and saunas. The breakfast wasn't included for us, cost 10€/day/person and had much to offer from cold yoghurt to warm food. But we thought it was more price worthy to eat at one of all the coffee shop's nearby, there's plenty of them at Bartok Bela street.

If you want a top modern hotel this isn't the one, but it's a good hotel with good services and great value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    548
    336
    123
    43
See reviews for
222
345
99
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a cycling company, so it was strange that when we were celebrating after a 6 day ride from Vienna we were rudely told to move our bikes away from the driveway in front of the hotel because 'they belong in the garage'. Not a great start. However our room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was chaotic because there were several large tour groups all trying to be served at the same time. The staff struggled to keep the food flowing. We only stayed the one night and moved to a quieter hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrior11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great staff and large lobby. When you get out of the hotel there is a beautiful lake and a bus stop (10min to the center). The pool is smaller than the one pictured but it was ok. There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom. Soundproof walls and clean towels everyday. Basic and functional hotel but nothing exceptional!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is a disaster!!! I booked our room in advance (4 months in advance)!!! Our flight arrived at 23:50 and we agreed that my daughter will arrive around 14:00-14-30 that day because she was already in Hungary, I asked if I should pay in advance...they said..."No problem you can pay for everything when you leave!!" My daughter arrived at 14:30 that day and they did not let her up to our room!! After many telephone calls (from Norway) they would have let her up to the room but she of course was NOT interested in taking THAT chance again!!
The room was fairly clean but the air-conditioning didn't do the job!!
The pool for example....is VERY oversized on the pictures!!
All in all we had a very negative experience!!!!
3 people were very kind and helpfull-2 boy(s) and one breakfast waiter!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Cynthia G,

We are terribly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel; however it is not absolutely clear to us what went wrong with your reservation. We would highly appreciate if you could provide some more information, so we could learn from our mistake.

The air-conditioning in the room is automatically switching off when the guest leaves the room/turns on when returns, thus reducing the ecological footprint.

The pool in our Fitness Centre is a 10 x 5 meter counter current pool.

Thank you for sharing your experiences!

Best regards,

Csaba Pokol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not particularly convenient but this hotel is functional. I was there on a very hot night but the air conditioning was not working. I sweltered

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the air-conditioning.
Please always inform our reception if you have problems with the room equipments, they can change your room, or in this case show you the trick how to keep the air-conditioning turned on even if you leave the room. Basically the air-conditioning turns of when the guest leaves the room to save energy and reduce the ecological footprint.

Best regards,

Csaba Pokol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Decent room, nothing stands out as particularly good, no bad experience at all. Staff a mixed bunch, some particularly friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. Big place with bus loads of tourists etc so I expected pretty impersonal treatment. Everything improves if you give the hard working staff a little breathing time.

Room Tip: got to be on the upper 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Clean good hotel in a nice area - lake, trees, in a walking distance to the Citadel (around 15 minutes).
Rooms are spacious, clean. View from my room was great.
Staff is nice, cooperative.
Wi-fi is not very fast, face time and skype was not working quite good.
Breakfasts are good, European with cereals, yoghurts.
I think that it is a good hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#118 of 334 in Budapest
1,220 reviews
Hotel Budapest
#161 of 334 in Budapest
867 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#128 of 334 in Budapest
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#134 of 334 in Budapest
1,839 reviews
Margaret Island
Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Property: Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
Address: Tas vezer utca 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Budapest
#75 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re surrounded by nature, work is more enjoyable and leisure time more relaxing Hotel Flamenco offers something rare – accommodation close to the centre of Budapest yet surrounded by beautiful parkland. This four-star hotel near the so-called “Bottomless Lake” in Budapest’s 11th district has its own garage and rooftop car park, although it’s also easily accessible by public transport with metro, bus and tram stops a short walk away. Hotel Flamenco is also an ideal venue for events. Its conference rooms come in various sizes, making it equally suitable for hosting smaller conferences and major events for several hundred people. At our hotel, we pay great attention to protecting the environment. Flamenco is proud to be an “Evergreen Hotel”, a title awarded to the most environmentally friendly establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Flamenco Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing