We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, local, basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest
Ranked #106 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed April 13, 2011

To start i will say we only paid £130 for four nights for the two of us in total for B&B so lets be fair....£16 a night each - i wasn't expecting the Hilton. I will however say that Thompson rated this as 4T's which is a bit much. It's an average 3* hotel at best. We ate out every night so dinner wasn't an issue. They tried to deny us breakfast on our second morning but apologised straight away when they realised they were wrong. We never left a tip for the room cleaners as the only thing they did was make our bed (which we could have done). They didn't even empty our glasses of water from our bedside for the 4 nights we were there, or put into the bin any empty shampoo packets mistakenly left in the bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor and the first night was very noisy in the corridor. The walls are very thin and i'm pleased i took earplugs. That said, the staff were helpful when asked anything and they didn't charge us for a phone call when i realised i'd booked our return taxi for the wrong time to the airport. The spa facilities are fine and the pool was ample seeing as i didn't intend to spend too long in the hotel. it really was for us just a base for putting our heads down. that said i don't do hostels so wouldn't have wanted anything run down. We used Airport Transfers Budapest (ATB) who were brilliant and not too expensive. Driver apologised for being late when in fact we'd touched down early. They then turned up two hours early at our urgent request when i'd booked the wrong departure time. Couldn't recommend them enough. Be careful when using the trams. We didn't know how to validate our tickets and tried watching the locals but no-one seemed to do theirs. When the ticket inspectors got on, we were booted off the tram for fare dodging and fined £20 each (12,000HUF in total). Not really fair on a tourist who intentionally purchased a ticket but just didn't know how to validate it. That was our only bad point. Recommend you learn some basic words. Thank You got us big smiles where ever we went. Recommend the Orange Hop On Hop Off bus tour - 5,000HUF gets you a 24hr bus pass, 2 boat trips valid for a year, 1 beer, and 1 Goulash. 1 boat trip alone was worth 2,100 HUF's. overall a good city to do a four day visit to.

Room Tip: don't pay over the odds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saminguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

I came to the Flemenco to accompany my husband on a business trip. I had read the reviews so didn't have huge expectations. However it's pretty good at what it does. An easy tram ride to the centre, though it's not that far to walk, made for easy sightseeing. The hotel is a little stale, rather dated, but mostly OK so if being seen in the newest and latest isn't important to you then you'll be fine. Everything works, beds are fine, there's plenty water from the shower, the breakfast is perfectly acceptable. We were brought extra pillows without hesitation. My main complaint was only having a single dispenser of liquid soap as the 'supplied' toiletries. These days, when we all fly hand luggage, it's nice to have some little bottles of shampoo and body lotion etc in the room.. but my kind husband procured some little bottles of shampoo from a cleaner or reception or someone, so they are available - just ask. I didn't hear a single whinge about the conference facilities from my husband, so I guess all was good there. Certainly the 'conference' food was of a good standard. So all in all, better than I had expected and nothing really to complain about. (A bigger pool would be good, but hey..). And enjoy Budapest - it's a very fine place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girl_on_the_GoiNBaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusFlamenco, Director of Sales at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Thank you for your review. Our Hotel is proud of being a green hotel; so we are using in bathrooms refillable shampoo and soap dispensers. In every bathroom, there is a tub of liquid soap, which can be used as shampoo or shower gel as the same time. We decided to use that material; because it helps us to control the unnecessary garbage of soaps which were used only once, reduce the number of the small plastic packages of shampoo, and shower gel.


We are happy that all in all you were satisfied with our hotel. We hope you will choose again our hotel at your next time in Budapest.
And Budapest is really a very beautiful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have stayed at the Flamenco quite a few times over the last ten years but have decided after our last visit never to stay there again. We liked it because of the area if was in, away from the crowds, yet easy to get anywhere with the excellent transport services. Now they have taken the restaurant away and left you with just the coffee shop which they now use as the restaurant. There are no coffee and tea facilities in the room, the bath bath is very short, the swimming pool is cold and really the rooms need modernising. The people on the receiption are very nice, especially Geregly Kollai who went out off his way to help in any way possible. We looked at several other hotels this time and decided it did not compare very well any more. Its okay if you find a very cheap rate but don't bother with otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hampshireanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanubiusFlamenco, Director of Sales at Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear Hampshireanne,

Thank you for your review, every feedback is really important to us.
We are sorry to hear that, you were not fully satisfied with the facilities of our hotel, however you were happy with the service provided by our reception team.
We have forwarded your compliment to the reception team and the Rooms Division Manager.
Thank you very much for your constructive criticism, as it enables us to improve our services.
We appreciate that you are a frequent user of our hotel and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Laszlo Polik
Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

These hotels still exist! It is perhaps my bad luck, but I found myself for the second time in Budapest in a Soviet hotel. The location is not bad, and the environment is quite nice. The hotel worked very well as a conference venue, but for overnights - I really don't know. The rooms are ok, about three stars, but the corridors are from your bad dreams. They are long painted with strange colors and covered with an old wall-to-wall carpet. The staff members at the reception don't even try to be friendly, they just do their work. The house-keeping dept must have denied its staff to take any contacts to the guests. No smile, no good morning, unbelieable in a hotel that has officially four stars. Breakfast must be one of the unhealthiest I have ever eaten. No proper fruit juice, energy rich Russian salad and french toast...

The hotel has a working gym and a small swimming pool and sauna. Not bad, and they are free for the hotel guests.

If Hungary wants to become a big player in the global and European meeting industry, it should forget or try to get upgraded hotels like Danubius Hotel Flamenco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I spent 4 nights here in a so-called 'executive room'.

Good points:
- overlooking a little park;
- close to trams
- quiet neighbourhood
- double-glazing
- quiet (unless you use the airco)
- comfy bed
- good strong shower (for people under 1 metre 60!)
- good meeting rooms

Less good points:
- some indifferent staff, some helpful
- room décor very 1980; furnishings old but furniture OK; really, really needs refurbishing
- rooms quite small; bathroom small
- some non-smoking rooms have been smoked in

I wouldn't like to know what the 'standard' rooms were like. The advantage of paying €30 extra for an 'executive' seemed to be that you get a kettle (with 4 tea-bags, and no milk) and are on the top floor so it's quite quiet. In theory, there's also an executive breakfast room, but you have to beg to be allowed in, even if you've paid for an executive room ....

Overall, disappointing; I can see why they concentrate on conferences; I think the bedrooms really need some investment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Not a fantastic location but everything is within a 30 min walk. Nice staff and the rooms are decent for the price. Free swimmong and sauna was much used and enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Lovely hotel, continental breakfast not up to much but rooms clean and beds comfortable. Good location 4 minute walk from the tram stop taking you to all the main sights and attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful advising us on transport ect. Would definately return!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmie2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,548 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#130 of 336 in Budapest
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 336 in Budapest
2,350 reviews
Holiday Inn Budapest-Budaors
#126 of 336 in Budapest
232 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#97 of 336 in Budapest
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest

Address: Tas vezer utca 3 - 7, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#50 Family Hotel in Budapest
#77 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $42 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A meeting place with space to breathe" If you’re surrounded by nature, work is more enjoyable and leisure time more relaxing Hotel Flamenco offers something rare – accommodation close to the centre of Budapest yet surrounded by beautiful parkland. This four-star hotel near the so-called “Bottomless Lake” in Budapest’s 11th district has its own garage and rooftop car park, although it’s also easily accessible by public transport with metro, bus and tram stops a short walk away. Hotel Flamenco is also an ideal venue for events. Its conference rooms come in various sizes, making it equally suitable for hosting smaller conferences and major events for several hundred people. At our hotel, we pay great attention to protecting the environment. Flamenco is proud to be an “Evergreen Hotel”, a title awarded to the most environmentally friendly establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Danubius Hotel Flamenco - Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Flamenco Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing