We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpacker style..no frills hotel but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Griff Junior

Hotel Griff Junior
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Griff Junior
Ranked #267 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Backpacker style..no frills hotel but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as the neighbouring hotel (griff) was fully booked.
The hotel looks like it used to be a hospital and the rooms look typical back packer style. Ok if you want basic accomodaton ,2 desks , 3 single beds and a sink, and a shared shower/toilet.
It's just such a shame there is no tv in the room,as it would make it more homely.having said that its great value for money if you just want a bed for the night,wifi internet in the hotel lobby.
I must say all the staff were excellent.spoke great English and very helpful and knowledgeable, the only let down is the decor of the hotel.it needs to be painted cheerful colours and not just a dull white.
The breakfast is very basic.bread,jam and ham,tea and coffee.
The bar lady /resturant manager "briggy" was fantastic.I was the only one in the bar and felt a bit sad/down. But briggy lifted my spirits with her wonderful personality,it was amazing how she listened to my problems and was so understanding.briggy was wonderful at her job and very professional.I met some interesting people here and would probably book again one day.many thanks to all the staff for making my stay enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    11
    3
    11
See reviews for
2
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

First of all - there are two hotels just next to each other - Hotel Griff, which seems to be a rather normal 3* business hotel and Hotel Griff Junior - which is a 1* hotel we stayed in. The building was (or maybe still is) a normal student dormitory - long corridors, unappealing look, communal showers and toilets. We booked a double room with en-suite bathroom - it turned out to have three separate beds. Furniture very simple to none (3 beds, 1 desk, 1 chair), bed linen and towels clean, carpet had some stains on it, bathroom although cleaned showed some signs of its age. Breakfast not very good (two types of bread, ham, cheese (only on day 1), fake vegetable oil butter, three jams, bad cofee, tea selection and hot milk - that's about it). The pros are its location (trams no. 19 and 49 stop just few meters from the hotel and take you to the centre in about 15 minutes) and frankly THE PRICE. For what would get us a bed in a backpackers hostel's dorm got us our own room with bathroom. Not complaining but wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamM_Slovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I think that the hotel's building is from socialist era -
some kind of after-work sanatorium or smth like that.
Nevertheless, our room had 3 beds, simple WC and douche,
and even wired Internet connection.
Suitable for low-budget 1-2 nights staying to look at beautiful Budapest by the whole
family or the group of young friends.
the car park is free and guided. Trhe breakfast was include in the price
but was rather poor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

The Griff Junior is a cheaper and less classy alternative to the adjacent Griff hotel. With a total lack of any form of luxury, this facility actually resembles a hostel more than a hotel, but is nonetheless kept clean and in good shape.

POSITIVE ASPECTS
Easy to reach by car, trams, national and international trains. Clean and somewhat comfortable rooms.

NEGATIVE ASPECTS
Because the entrance is tucked away, guests often mistake this hotel with the more inviting Griff hotel around the corner, only to end up disappointed when "shown out the door". All rooms have 4 single beds, so couples and guests staying alone will have plenty of useless extra beds in their rooms. The receptionists are teamed up with certain taxi companies, so when asking them to order a cheap taxi (for example to the airport) guests will be in for a surprise. The location is far from attractive, in a run-down industrial neighbourhood towards the outskirts.

LOCAL TRANSPORT
Trams run frequently towards downtown during the day, and a bus runs on an hourly basis at night. The Kelenföld train station is 15 minutes away on foot. From here, international trains go directly to and from Vienna, Munich and Zagreb. National trains go to and from lake Balaton and various towns in the western parts of Hungary.

CONCLUSION
This hotel is suited for those who seek the cheapest alternative. There are absolutely no luxuries whatsoever, but the rooms are clean enough for a trouble-free sleep. It is not recommended for business travellers or romantic getaways.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

San Juan PR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I was supposed to stay in Budapest for 2 nights, but left after one so I didn't have to stay here again. The rooms are disgusting, the sheets are full of hair and the towels are stained. We went to breakfast and there was nothing left. There are rooms in the hostal which I'm assuming are leased as apartment-type housing, full of interesting people. The bathrooms are dirty, showers are clogged, I'd rather pee in an outhouse. We told the front desk that the room was dirty and the bathrooms were untouchable so we were leaving and they very calmly said "ok, sorry"... sounded like they'd heard it before but were doing nothing to fix it. I would never ever ever recommend this garbage hole to anyone...

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank espanola218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

The price is great, the location is good and the staff is helpful. We were not expecting luxury - but the place is FILTHY! The bathroom smells, the towels had stains of blood and the bed was full of hairs. I would never go back there nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgf30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Hrvatska (Croatia)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

My wife and I were visiting Budapest on November 1st 2007, and stayed for 2 nights. We stayed in Hostel Griff Junior, which is just 1 tram station from Kelenföldi railway station. It´s in Bartók Béla street between Somogyi and Ballagi Mór street. Hotel is cheap (15 euros per person per night - including breakfast), but is very clean. Furniture is a bit old, but clean and useful. Our room had twin beds, but we pushed bed together and made a double bed, and it wasn’t a problem. We use shared bathroom, and it was very clean. There was also shared kitchen with microwave oven (among else), so it´s very useful. You have free internet connection in lobby, or you can use hotel computer (very old model, but working) for about 0,3 euros (30 euro cents) per 30 minutes. Receptionist spoke English pretty well, so communication was not a problem. Breakfast is same at home, so we were satisfied.
If you don´t have much money to spend on hotel, this is excellent place to stay.
Tram station is 50 meters from hotel, and just across street is grocery shop. Citadel is 5 minutes by tram from hotel, and old Buda city 7 minutes. It takes about 10 minutes by tram to metro entry (red line) and main square in Pest is 2 metro station (5 minutes) from there. Trams are coming every 5, and metro every 2 minutes, so nothing is far from hotel.
If you are planning low budget trip to Budapest, I can recommend stay in Hostel Griff junior.

  • Liked — price and clean rooms/bathrooms
  • Disliked — no other meals (especially dinner)
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank drot_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griff Junior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griff Junior

Property: Hotel Griff Junior
Address: Bartok Bela ut 152, Budapest 1115, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Griff Junior 1*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Griff Junior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griff Junior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing