We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved the service we received”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Park Hotel
Ranked #239 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I loved the service we received”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We arrived in Budapest during the floods of June 2013. The hotel is directly across the street from the train station, and in a nicer area than in Prague.The room was nice, and the hotel had an elevator. There were two restaurants attached. Breakfast was good. The staff was the most helpful I have ever encountered. They have a free web center and they helped me sign in and get through to Vienna Hotels in order to cancel our room in Salzburg due to the flooding. Before I was able to use the computer, the Service desk gentleman made a call to the hotel for me. He spoke fluent German and English and told me I would have to go on line to cancel the room, as that was how I booked it. He helped me a number of times. The hop on hop off bus is a few blocks down from the hotel, very convenient. I would stay at the Golden Park again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroltinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Caroltinley,

Sharing your excellent review of Golden Park Hotel hotel is very much appreciated.
We are happy that our services, quality of accomodation and front office staff attitude made your stay a memorable one, we will be informing all of your satisfaction. We truly appriciated that you found the staff met up to your expectations, as we strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests.

I do hope to welcome you back here again very soon.
Best regards .

Judy Nagy

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    403
    411
    188
    150
See reviews for
167
550
78
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sisak, Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hotel location is great - metro station is in front of the hotel, railway station is across the street, you can easilly walk to the town centre and Arena Plaza shopping mall is really near (and there you can park for free!). The rooms were spotless although pretty small. The staff was kind and attentive. Food for breakfast was very good - there was variety of different foods to choose from. Only objection goes to breakfast serving - when we came to breakfast there were no clean tables-on all tables were used dishes and leftovers, and there were only two maids who were cleaning and setting the tables and they were very slow and ineffective.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelalalaPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guests,
Dear Melalala Pi,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Golden Park Hotel.
I 'm so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the overall experience and at the same time I am sorry to read that there were a few issues that did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for the update remark regarding the breakfast. I have passed on this information to the department involved to see if they can find ways to rectify this for all guests in short time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back during 2014.

Best regards:

Judy Nagy

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for 3 nights in January. It is not an extravagant hotel, definitely not 4 star as they claim, but it is one clean and cozy residence for one pleasant trip. It is near city center, at 3 metro stations from Deak ter whit line 2, near east railway station, near the hop on hop off red line 7 station. The hotel has two types of rooms, one of them is smaller, but all the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and customer oriented. The breakfast stays in the hotel line, nothing extraordinary but safe and typical for European breakfast. In the lobby it is one buffet where you can have one excellent cup of coffee, especially if you don't like the standard breakfast coffee. It is one good value for money hotel, for our stay we payed 102 euro. If you aren't very exigent whit the rooms space, you may consider this hotel as your residence in your trip in Budapest.

Helpful?
Thank Dragos_vl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SalesManagerGPH, Front Office Manager at Golden Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guests,
Dear Mr. Dragos,

It is my pleasure to read your kind feedback on Golden Park Hotel. We high appreciated that you were pleased with the hotel standards as well as the hotel location. The Golden Park Hotel has the advantage of the underground and public transportation accsess being close enough to make your journey easy and confortable.
We endeavour to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment .

I very much look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit to Budapest.

Best wishes:

Judy Nagy
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel location is excellent as it is directly next to the main train station and a stone throw away from Arena Plaza, a huge shopping mall. Lots of shopping choices is available in Arena Plaza, and there is also Tesco in there.

Room is located on the first floor with faulty aircon as it was on "radiator" mode and could not be switched to the "cool" mode. Informed the hotel counter staff to get someone to check on it, however we were told to open our windows instead. It is rather disappointing as we were concerned about the common ledge outside the window as anyone could just enter the room by walking along the ledge. Apart from that issue, everything else is alright with the clean and basic room. The breakfast provided is rather sumptuous and good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great location (the metro station is right in front of the hotel, as well as the Keleti train station). Metro is fairly cheap (~1.2 eur for single ticket) and it will take you to the other part of the city in 15 minutes.

The receptionists are neither friendly nor rude, but do respond in one or two lines so you have to ask multiple questions to get the information you need.

Rooms are clean and mid-sized, but I did notice spots on the carpet and marks in the wall. TV and hair dryer are a bit dated for a 4-star hotel. The bathroom was clean and spacious.

Breakfast is excellent though: there are many dishes to choose from (even ones that would be more appropriate for lunch). I also loved their coffee with milk.

All in all, I've seen friendlier service and better rooms in 4-star hotels, but the hotel is quite decent for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtodtlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

It's cheap, not cheerful.
Location is good as it is at the entrance to Metro line 2 station....that is where the list of good things end.
There was what seemed like the majority of a Greek school staying in the hotel at the same time. This as you can imagine does not go hand in hand with a good nights sleep in a hotel with paper thin walls! However that all being said we did get our room changed(with the help of a threat of leaving) and the room was clean, bed comfy and shower decent.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Trip Advisor can be a wonderful thing; reading reviews written by genuine people can really help the decision making process, however there is nothing worse than reading bad reviews AFTER you have made a booking!
I went expecting a very average hotel but generally it was a lot better than the reviews implied. The reception, lounge & bar area are very pleasant, with good, strong, free Wi-Fi. A pint of Heinekin cost 935 forints (about £2.85) and I felt quite comfortable sat there checking my emails each evening.
The room was also pleasant, and although my heart sank when I looked out of the first floor window and I saw that we were immediately above a tram stop, however they stopped running at midnight and didn't disturb our sleep at all. If your room is close to or just above the reception you may still pick up the internet. A lot is made of the hotels superb position, but the public transportation system in Budapest is so good that it doesn't really matter.
The worst point was the breakfast; luke warm, uninspired and unappetising. We stopped for 4 days and apart from the first morning we never went in again! (Thank Heavens for McDonalds across the road!)
I would ideally award the Golden Park 3 & a half stars if I could, but 3 it is as 4 is simply too many, however I would recommend this hotel if you are only stopping in Budapest for a few days or are on a budget.
TIP: check out the little carousel in reception full of business cards offering discounts, free drinks and money off at various shops & restaurants in Budapest

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyalNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#137 of 342 in Budapest
484 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#83 of 342 in Budapest
515 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 342 in Budapest
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#131 of 342 in Budapest
1,533 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 342 in Budapest
439 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Property: Golden Park Hotel
Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing