We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really a 3+ star hotel, but we had a good room.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Park Hotel
Ranked #232 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really a 3+ star hotel, but we had a good room.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the Groupon coupon. The coupon was for 2 nights and we also bought one extra (for 50 euros). At the hotel´s homepage it is told that this is a 4 star hotel, but I would say that it is 3+. This is because some of the rooms are older and smaller (you can find good information about different kind of rooms from other reviews) and the lobby with it´s sofas was not quiet modern. I had read about the reviews before traveling and at the desk I asked for "a modern, renovated, quite room" and the recipient called to the cleaner lady if any of those newer rooms was available. So we received a room from the 7th floor. The elevator reaches only the 6th floor, so you have to carry your luggage one floor up. The room was really clean and modern, we liked it a lot. The air conditioning worked. The only things that did not work were tv and safety box. The bed was little bit too stiff for my back, but otherwise nice. There was a small fridge in the room and a tub in the bathroom. The breakfast was good, we did not have anything to complain about. The hotel is not in the centrum of the city, but if you are used to travel with metro, it is really easy to get to the centrum as the metro station is just outside the door of the hotel. We used the metro a lot. Remember also the large shopping center Arena Plaza just about 500 meters from the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wompatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    397
    400
    183
    145
See reviews for
163
536
76
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Donauworth, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel is ok, its next to the Keleti train station and directly next to the metro.
But as the metro only drives until 10:30 pm its not good loation for going out in the evenings.
The room was tidy and the staff nice.

Room Tip: If u go there spontaneous, tell the price of trip adivsor! otherwise u have to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Golden Park hotel is an average hotel classed as a 4* hotel. I can safely say that this hotel is not up to those standards. We found the room to be spacious and clean but there was very little luxury involved. The hotel is quite a distance from the heart of Budapest which was a shame for us as we like to explore on foot. There is however a subway and train station near by which will appease the majority of people. I would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling on a smaller budget but if you are looking for luxury I would look elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Whoever created the website for this hotel is a marketing genius. Despite the gallery and running photos, this hotel is nothing like it is shown. I was impressed at the usage of wide-angled photography to make rooms look bigger than they actually are. I've reviewed previous submissions prior to writing to make sure I was being fair and not just ranting because my Hungarian experience was pregnant with "I can't help you, goodbye !" encounters, despite speaking Magyar and being respectful. This city had its share of difficult encounters, but that's another review.
Positives-one of the two rooms we rented had good airconditioning at a time when heat was an issue. We were there two weeks after the flooding, and it was incredibly humid. The location was great, right next to Keleti station,but we could have just as easily been next to the Astoria.There is a ton of drunk homeless men in the area, but they're harmless and it was a heck of a lot better than Deak Ferenc Ter which was scary bad for the drunk homeless. I'm okay with it,it's just hard to explain to your 10 year old daughter why a woman isn't wearing any clothes and is passed out drunk. Not to be judgemental,just pointing it out. There was tons of this near this hotel.We had no sound/noise issues, perhaps we were too drunk as well. The breakfast is reasonable, not great but not terrible. I absolutely loved the two connected restaurants,especially the Mediterranean restaurant. That staff was wonderful. They would do better if they attached themselves to a better hotel.
Negatives-the staff was spotty. Some folks were exceptionally helpful, others not so much. When we left I requested a luggage cart. Normally, hotel staff would jump in asking to get your bags. Not this staff. They (some, not all) don't really care. Many seemed out of sorts when asking for basic information, like they were too busy. In some respects, I feel like I received a better Hungarian experience than my compatriots staying at the Kempinski where the toilet paper was scented (I jest but you get the idea) I did notice that the front desk staff was overworked. There was typically one person as manager and maybe another or two handling bags and bar..They work 12 hour shifts so in defense, perhaps they need more staffing. The bar and breakfast staff was great, the women that worked these stations were outstanding and also seemed overworked.
I think they're doing the best they can with what they have. We had a lot of positive experiences with this hotel but some negative ones as well. My major reason for listing as 3 stars is the discrepancy between their web site and reality. I'm okay with dingy hotels, and if you saw the chair furniture at breakfast, you would understand the term 'dingy'. I'm not okay with marketing yourself as a 4-5 star hotel with 3 star service. I kinda liked being yelled at despite not understanding instructions that were either hidden or not in plain sight. This was a positive but difficult experience in a place that is occasionally positive, occasionally difficult. Definitely not for the average American traveler, which may be a good thing. I loved Hungary, and we had many positive experiences with the locals, but tourism, at least at this hotel, isn't ready for prime time. (unless you love Kebab because the attached restaurant is AWESOME!!!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolleyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragujevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three days in November 2011. When we arrived at this hotel and entered the room it was obvious that this is not a four star hotel. I am sometimes amazed by the differences in hotels that belong to the same category. Lobby is small, service average.
Room was average, with average, plain and old furniture. Everything in this hotel looks worn out. However, it was quiet and we had a good sleep.
Dining room is big, but the offer of the food for the breakfast is average, or even below average. Especially if you now that this is a four star hotel.
It is located about 1.5 miles from the central parts of the city. We like walking, and we took a walk several times. But the public transportation is really good, and you need several minutes to get to some of the landmarks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in June 2013. Not the best hotel we have stopped in, and not the worst either. We had a room on the sixth floor, the lay out of the corridors in relation to the lift is not the most straight forward we have experienced, and the room albeit large again was not what you considered straight forward. For example the small television is a long way from the bed if you wanted to watch TV whilst in bed. Plenty of wardrobe space, sofa bed with two chairs and small table, good bathroom, but poor lighting. In earlier reports dogs were mentioned and the carpet had lots of what I would descibe as dog hairs still on it.
The breakfast was ok, again not the best we have had, but you tend to lose quality when it is a buffet style, one complaint would be that the food was only lukewarm.
There are two restaurants attached to the hotel, one Egyptian, the other Italian, used the Italian and that was ok. Called in the bar on our return from the days journeys, and had a couple of drinks whilst catching up on our laptop (Lobby is the only place you can use Wi-Fi, need to address this to allow use in all rooms) before we retired for the night, as usual the prices were high as hotels normally are.
Reception were good and helpful with advice and information, location is good to get about Budapest as the Metro is virtually right outside the front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoggintheNogYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights . After arriving in our room on the first floor we noticed the filthy carpet, holes in the curtains and the room stank of cigarettes in a non smoking room. , we noticed dogs barking in the room next door. I went to the reception to ask about the dogs and the staff told me there was a DOG CONVENTION on in town and the hotel was full of dogs! I asked for a room where no dogs were on the floor and we were given an attic room. It was a nice enough room but you could still here the dogs at night. Only just a 3 star at best

Room Tip: Check the room first before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erictheviking2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#140 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#84 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#119 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#130 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#158 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
City Inn
#89 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Property: Golden Park Hotel
Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing