We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Golden Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Park Hotel
Ranked #236 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Golden Park Hotel was great considering the price we paid for it. It's a little way from the centre of Budapest but two stops on the metro and you're in the middle of everything. The metro stop is just outside the hotel doors which is a bonus!!
Our room was clean and a reasonable size, very nice modern bathroom.
Breakfast was adequate with a wide variety of foods, hot and cold. The Wifi was supposed to be used 'only in the lobby' but we were on the 3rd floor and it worked perfectly well in our room. Overall we had a great stay and found no faults with the hotel at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    412
    426
    200
    157
See reviews for
175
571
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location, as soon as you resurface from the Keleti Metro, the hotel is just right there.
We had a triple room, and didnt expect the third bed to be a make-shift from the sofa but well... it wasnt so bad, the room, though poorly lit up and the fridge not working, the TV ancient and a little small for all 3 of us, was clean and the restroom came with a bath tub :)
Wifi was only at the lobby, and in the evening you can see guests with their iPhones on every sofa around that area.
Breakfast was good, with variety of food, though I believe the baking power was outdated and they ran out of sugar, because the cakes were totally inedible.
So, I'd say for the price this is a good hotel with really nice location especially if you are traveling by train, but don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We (family of 5) were in this hotel for 2 nights around end of March 2013. Overall not a bad hotel for its price.
The good things:
Location is great. We came by train from Vienna and it is just 70 mater from the train station exit. The entrance to M3 metro station is just 10 meter from the hotel and after one or two stations you are at the center of the city.
Breakfast was big in a nice hall and they keep it clean. Service was good (we asked for extra pillows and 5 min. after we have it. There is a good restaurant attach to the hotel . a big shopping mall is less than 10 min. walk.
TV channels selection is good (even one in Hebrew)
The bad things:
No WIFI (just in the lobby). I expect every 4 star hotel to have free WIFI at the rooms. Here you do not get any. The quality of the rooms much very between one to the other. We had 701 which is big with flat TV and 615 with old TV and looks old. It says 4 star but I do not give him more then 3.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aviv105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice hotel that is a little outdated and can do with some renovation. Rooms are fine, breakfast good. Service was good, I really can't find anything wrong with this hotel.
Ah, maybe the schoolchildren crowding the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisbeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This in a good hotel in a fantastic location once you get your bearings. The train, tram and underground station are right outside. The staff are helpful but abrupt (but this is the Hungarian way). The room was very basic but very comfortable beds and duvets (however this is personal choice).

My on only complaint was every morning around 5:30am we were woken up by people playing music VERY loud in their room with their doors wide open. On the last morning I complained to reception who dealt with the guests immediately, however this returned ten mins later 6:55am.....So we got up very early every morning.I need to add this was not the fault of the hotel, just inconsiderate guests (maybe the hotel should take note that a few extra floor walks would help). The rooms let every single cough and murmur noise in. Terrible soundproofing!!

However this did not ruin the absolutely fantastic trip in Budapest, it is a FANTASTICALLY small city with lots to do and see. Everything is inexpensive, especially the beer and wine.

This hotel was good....but not great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is a nice hotel located just across the main Keleti railway station in Budapest. Very close, just a few meters from a big shopping mall "Arena plaza". Also on a walking distance from the Hero's Square. In front of the hotel there is a metro station and a tram station with good connections to the center of the city. Rooms are average, and not so very clean but OK. Dinning room is big and choice for breakfast is quite sufficient. Bar is very nice and Hungarian beer is good. Stuff are polite and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikola Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we arrived pleasant chap on reception. Went upstairs and squeezed into room. Can't complain at the price and central location. Opposite Keleti main line station, handy for Bratyslava, Vienna or especially Brno in Czech republic: if you get the wrong train returning from Bratyslava. ie coming from Budapest and not going to. Didn't realise we were next to chemist, food shop but cafe/restaurant places eithier side looked empty. Coming out hotel go right then right again large shopping centre and cinema. Food hall more snacky, compared to home made food in Bratyslava shopping mall. Metro outside railway station, handy for Heroes Square and check on the spa. Steam outside. (We missed this an extra day in Bratyslava). Had our pack of ten tickets for transport and dotted about. Did visit to the Opera but you can just look in. Photographic exibition on in same street as the "Moulin Rouge", really interesting.
The hotel was fine!!!!!! Breakfast was delicious, loads to eat they had potato and courgette bake and all the usual. Bread delicious... Lovely dining room. Tons of Italian students and Japanese tourists but efficient dining staff.

Room Tip: We had corner room, second floor, overlooking dining room and you could see the Keleti main train st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K.D.Ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#135 of 333 in Budapest
512 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 333 in Budapest
458 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#133 of 333 in Budapest
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Hotel
#234 of 333 in Budapest
170 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#190 of 333 in Budapest
634 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#132 of 333 in Budapest
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Hotel

Property: Golden Park Hotel
Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Golden Park Hotel Budapest can be a perfect starting point of your itinerary in the city of Budapest and its features guarantee an ideal stay for those who visit Budapest for business purposes. The 100 year old impressive building of the hotel can be found on Baross square opposite Eastern Railway Station (Keleti pu.), the most important transportation center of the city. The cultural center of Budapest, with the Danube, the Parliament and the Vaci street can be reached by public transport in a couple of minutes.Golden Park Hotel Budapest provides a location close to all significant sights and tourist attractions, the City Park and the Arena Plaza, one of Europe’s largest shopping centers can be reached in a 10 minutes walk.In the 179 comfortable rooms of the fully restored Golden Park Hotel the relaxing nights are guaranteed.Our guests can choose from the rooms of seven floors (a floor exclusively for non smokers among them). Our interior designers created rooms that reflect the values of simple elegance, comfort and handiness; the rooms’ services are ensured by the high quality work of our excellent staff.On the top floor of the hotel there are rooms designed in the spirit of minimal art. Fashionable colors, forms, furniture, and the topmost floor’s charms, with a stunning city panorama gleaming through the windows - the more nights you spend here, the more you become attached to it.The rooms are equipped with noise-safe windows, individually-controlled air conditioning, satellite TV channels, phones, in room safe deposit box, refrigerator and hairdryer. To guarantee our guests’ safety, all rooms have electronic swipe cards and smoke detectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing