We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest
Ranked #242 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After reading some bad comments about the hotel we where a bit anxious about what we were going to see. We have booked our room really cheap, it was an offer actually so we didn't expected much. The hotel was easily reachable with bus 200E from the airport and then Metro 3 and Metro 2. In fact, the metro station is just outside the hotel's door. The exterior of the building was lovely, it looked like a tower of some kind. The lobby was full of light, had a souvenir shop, a bar and provided a Wi-Fi connection as well as a bussiness room with a pc. The stuff was very helpful although there was a misunderstanding whereas the breakfast was included in our booking. Although, after producing an email they have sent us saying that yes we had booked breakfast the problem was solved. Our room was a triple one in the 6th floor. There were two lifts and the stuff took our things to the room. We were very happy about our room. It was big enough for the three of us. The third bed was the sofa which was big enough for two people to sleep on, not one. Anyway, there were two tables, two armchairs and a chair, a TV with both national and international channels such as CNN and TV5 and a wardrobe. Also, it had five windows with curtains for the night to block the light. The bed was very comfortable but somebody might find the sofa a bit hard to sleep on. The bathroom was spacious and clean. There was a soap provided near the basin and a sampoo and shower gel in the bathtub. Now, the breakfast was held in an enormus room in the half flloor. It had a huge variety of foods. Sparkling eggs, omelettes, boiled eggs, french toast, sausages, a variety of salads and fruit salads, a variety of ham and cheese, coffee, milk, cereals, jams, honey, sweets, pancakes,juices etc.. The breakfast was soo good that we weren't hungry till 6 o'clock.
There is a tram station on the right of the hotel and various buses stop across the street outside the Keleti station. If we were going to Budapest again we would certainly book that hotel again. Don't be affected by the bad reviews!! Maybe not the 4 star hotel that you expect but certainly good enough! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

It is a basic 2.5 star hotel, rooms small as usual in Europe, water pressure good, shower tight but fine, sleep quality okay, bed a bit hard, depends on your tastes, breakfast is so-so, coffee and juice weren't worth the effort to get them, location to metro line was awesome, straight of the red metro line and into the hotel, for sightseeing 1-3 night this hotel is fine if you room is just for sleeping and storing your stuff. For it rating and price it is an acceptable option is Budapest, free wifi in hotel lobby only. Shopping centre 1 km west, and has a gluten free store in it that is very good.

Room Tip: Room near reception will get the free wifi range but more hallway noise, it's a trade off depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sendlukealetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I don't understand some of the reviews below. This was a great budget hotel in a beautiful building with great staff. We found the hotel easily from the airport with public transport. In fact the beauty of this hotel was that it was situated right by the metro giving ten min access at the most to any of the attractions in the city.

Some people are complaining the rooms are not too big. I don't understand this complaint, when on holiday I am not bothered about moving furniture around or setting up an apartment. There is bed, space for storage for luggage and is adequate for relaxing in and sleeping. The room was very clean, spotless in fact and even looked like it had been renovated in the past year. Also there were receptacles with shampoo and shower gel in despite some people saying there wasn't. The rooms were clean every day and we did not have one complaint. In fact if we were to go back to the city we would use this Hotel again without a thought

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koppert79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've been staying 3 nights in this very crowded hotel. Room was small but decent. No view, but we couldn't care less. We came to visit Budapest, anyway. Reception staff was kind and helpful, they guided us towards city tours locations, also sold us the necessary tickets.

A single thing which was really bad: breakfast: food was never enough considering the amount of hotel guests, not always fresh as well. You cannot call margarine as butter, and the coffee is really terrible!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is located opposite the main train station where you will find the metro station, making it easier to move to the center of the main sights. 10 minutes by foot from the hotel there is a large shopping center.
The hotel is very large, with many passages - there a few times I wandered until I found a room.
I lived in a single room. It was spacious with comfortable bed and TV. The bathroom was clean, nice and roomy. Most of the rooms in the hotel has a small loggia with a side view of the station.
I recommend the hotel breakfast. They are very rich in hot and cold dishes. It also contains a lot of sweets, salads and fruit.
The hotel staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mazzsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Close to the railway station, little, but familiar hotel, you have a lot of opportunities to take a walk into the downtown, make business and sleep well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterbago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Like others we chose this hotel on the price. And when you include a very extensive buffet breakfast it was certainly value for money. Does it deserve the four star rating? A few hundred yards away, just under the fly-over where you catch the hop-off , hop- on bus is the similary rated Great Western. But walk into the foyer and you will find yourself in a different class altogether.
The Golden Park has two restaurants, accessed from the foyer but in relality they are two individual premises with entrances on to the main road, where most of their custom came from. Neither was worth visting apart from their close proximity to the hotel.
Our bedroom was quite sizeable with a dimly lit but well equipped bathroom. The fact that it had no toiletries was not a concern - but the fact that the extractor fan didn't work was. We reported it - but it still hadn't been fixed when we left. For a four star hotel we would have expected more than 3 TV channels, all in Hungarian (presumably). Our room was on the side of the hotel above a tram terminus. This made it pretty noisy which meant we couldn't sleep with the window open - and the air-con, at full blast was gentler than an angel's fart.
Other reveiwers have mentioned the metro. We prefer buses because of the views etc. These were frequent, and if like us you're over 65, they're free.
Arguably the best feature of the hotel was the staff who were all very friendly and helpful.
Would we return? Yes, purely becasue of whet you get for your money.

Room Tip: Facing the hotel I would pesume that the rooms on the back and right of the hotel to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pianist19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#126 of 334 in Budapest
558 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#131 of 334 in Budapest
2,098 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#243 of 334 in Budapest
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Green Hotel
#239 of 334 in Budapest
188 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
504 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#212 of 334 in Budapest
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest

Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $51 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Golden Park is centrally located in the heart of the business district of Budapest, close to many sights and directly opposite of the train station Keleti pályaudvar. The Syma Hall, the Puskas Ferenc Stadium and the Aréna Plaza, one of the largest shopping centers in Central Europe, are only a few minutes' walking distance away. The impressive building of the Golden Park Hotel is over 100 years old and has a wonderful facade. It offers elegant rooms with soundproofed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing