We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights at platanus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunguest Platanus Hotel
Ranked #256 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“2 nights at platanus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed at platanus for 2 nights during the weekend. the rooms are really extremely basic. nothing is fancy in there, but bare and essential. it is a hostel rather than a hotel but our room was clean and there were no smells, despite the very old carpet! sheets and towels were clean too, fortunately. Breakfast is not that rich...just croissants and some bred and cheese...however, not that bad. Good point is that the hotel is less than 10 mins walk from the underground and even closer to buses. in 10 mins time u r in the city center. If u look for something basic and have no need to recall a nice room in yr mind and pics, then go for it. If u want a pleasant place, then pick some better hotel... this is really nothing more than a hostel.... (Lisa -Milan Italy)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    47
    32
    23
See reviews for
13
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's a good hotel close to the underground and Nepliget bus station. Good for budget travels. Breakfast was simple, but good. The rooms were nice and clean. You can get easily to the main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

cheap hotel
close to metro, bus, tram
no luxury but we don't need it
ideal for young people, budget travels
very hard matrasses but very clean and fresh
basic breakfast between 7 and 9

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pásztó
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here one night, but I have to say that this is not a three star hotel. The building is very old, it rather looks like an old student hotel, not like a three star hotel. The room was as clean as it could be, but looked also depressing. It was really hot, so it was hard to sleep. The air conditioning was not working. Or to tell you the truth, it heated the air, and it was noise as well, so we decided rather to switch it off :) The location is also not good, it is far from everywhere, there is not even a restaurant around it. It is close to a metro station, so if you would like to use the public transport, you can get to the city center without changing the metro line. It was easy to find a parking place next to hotel. In the morning we had to left before 7, so we did not have breakfast - as I reading the other comments, I think we did not loose anything.
For this kind of room, service, and environment, I think the price is a little bit expensive. I am not recommending this hotel. Only if you are looking for maximum a night stay around this neighborhood, but you can find much more hotels in Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila_Balas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Kapfenberg, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel Platanus dosen´t earn 3 star, Reception is very ok and whit friendly and good people working there. Then is nothing more then maximum 2 stars. The breakfast was very poor. There is no mini bar only a empty fridge. Wife in the lobby, very slow. The staff was very friendly and try there best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I don’t really like give very negative reports because there is a place for every budget, but the Platanus has seen better days. The hotel is set up for short cheap stays, during my visit there was at least 5 coach parties of teenage school children, as you can imagine it was a bit noisy during the night. Consequently because of the type of cliental the room furniture is very basic. There is a small café in the reception area but no bar as such, the restaurant which doubles as the breakfast room does not open in the evening and there is nothing immediately around the hotel for food so that was a problem. As for breakfast, it was so full on two of the days with the school kids I couldn’t get close to a table and most tables were piled up with the remains of the previous person’s breakfast hence not so pleasant so I gave up. All the staff were very pleasant and the price was very good but as the saying goes ‘you only get what you pay for’ so don’t expect luxury and you won’t be disappointed. It was a little way out of Budapest city centre so not very convenient for tourists. As for being a 3 star establishment as all the literature says, I would class it as 2 stars at the most and struggling a little with this classification!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#188 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#225 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manzard Panzio
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#136 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#254 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omnibusz Hotel
Omnibusz Hotel
#247 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#257 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Platanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Platanus Hotel

Property: Hunguest Platanus Hotel
Address: Koenyves Kalman koerut 44, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunguest Platanus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunguest Platanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hunguest Platanus
Hunguest Platanus Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing