We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below avarage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunguest Platanus Hotel
Ranked #252 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here one night, but I have to say that this is not a three star hotel. The building is very old, it rather looks like an old student hotel, not like a three star hotel. The room was as clean as it could be, but looked also depressing. It was really hot, so it was hard to sleep. The air conditioning was not working. Or to tell you the truth, it heated the air, and it was noise as well, so we decided rather to switch it off :) The location is also not good, it is far from everywhere, there is not even a restaurant around it. It is close to a metro station, so if you would like to use the public transport, you can get to the city center without changing the metro line. It was easy to find a parking place next to hotel. In the morning we had to left before 7, so we did not have breakfast - as I reading the other comments, I think we did not loose anything.
For this kind of room, service, and environment, I think the price is a little bit expensive. I am not recommending this hotel. Only if you are looking for maximum a night stay around this neighborhood, but you can find much more hotels in Budapest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attila_Balas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel Platanus dosen´t earn 3 star, Reception is very ok and whit friendly and good people working there. Then is nothing more then maximum 2 stars. The breakfast was very poor. There is no mini bar only a empty fridge. Wife in the lobby, very slow. The staff was very friendly and try there best.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I don’t really like give very negative reports because there is a place for every budget, but the Platanus has seen better days. The hotel is set up for short cheap stays, during my visit there was at least 5 coach parties of teenage school children, as you can imagine it was a bit noisy during the night. Consequently because of the type of cliental the room furniture is very basic. There is a small café in the reception area but no bar as such, the restaurant which doubles as the breakfast room does not open in the evening and there is nothing immediately around the hotel for food so that was a problem. As for breakfast, it was so full on two of the days with the school kids I couldn’t get close to a table and most tables were piled up with the remains of the previous person’s breakfast hence not so pleasant so I gave up. All the staff were very pleasant and the price was very good but as the saying goes ‘you only get what you pay for’ so don’t expect luxury and you won’t be disappointed. It was a little way out of Budapest city centre so not very convenient for tourists. As for being a 3 star establishment as all the literature says, I would class it as 2 stars at the most and struggling a little with this classification!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ALENA K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is quite comfortable, with a lot of services, but everything was nothing more than acceptable, expect for the location, that is about 30 minutes far from the centre of the city, and for the staff, that is very nice and kind. 6/10.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Silvio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is little under the average rate of a hotel. The positive thing is that it is very close to the blue metro line - Nepliget station. But I selected "average" for location as the district looks like a ghetto - no shops or anything nearby! The breakfast was good, the sheets on the beds were clean, but there were no shampoo and hairdryer in the bathroom. As a whole, the hotel is good for 2-3 nights and if you plan to be outside and visit the sightseeing in the city.

Room Tip: I was in a room with a view to the street which is very noisy all night long and could not open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Budapest
11
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Platanus offers good value for your money and is located walking distance from the underground of Budapest. The staf is friendly. One remark is that the aircon of our room was not working well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#187 of 334 in Budapest
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#244 of 334 in Budapest
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manzard Panzio
Hotel Manzard Panzio
#141 of 334 in Budapest
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#249 of 334 in Budapest
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#237 of 334 in Budapest
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omnibusz Hotel
Omnibusz Hotel
#236 of 334 in Budapest
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Platanus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Platanus Hotel

Address: Koenyves Kalman koerut 44, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $48 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunguest Platanus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunguest Platanus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hunguest Platanus
Hunguest Platanus Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing