We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman Soup close Keleti railway station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Ranked #130 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Few months ago I spent wonderful weekend in Budapest. If you are looking for a good place to stay in Budapest, just take a short walk from the Keleti railway station and go to Rákóczi Avenue where you will find this beautyfull hotel with big and exclusive room, free wi-fi and good memoires, and enjoy your Budapest just as I did. Don't forget about Fisherman Soup or halászlé!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grakwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your visit and for good opinion about our hotel. Please return soon, you are always welcome here.
Best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 2,296 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice middleclass hotel with a walking distance to down town area.
Take the small streets instead of the main street if you want to find cafés, shops and so on. The Hop on off-buses were exellent with information in 20 languages. It was not so good outside the hotel because of the construction work in the streets and sometimes there were young high beggars.
I can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ann-sofi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your comment and enjoy again soon our services.
You are always welcome here.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been last week at Hungaria hotel included on a tour booked from Portugal.
On our arrival I realize that all critics on Trip adisor are real. My room ,509, hasn´t a frigo bar working ( is empty as well) the room hasn´t a safety box and the air conditioning despite to work doesn´t give cold enough. The stain marks on the floor are a lot.The food at restaurant is typically hungarian. Some employees speaks a poor English but the chairs are very dirty and the service poor. the daily price of the stay is low and so there are always crowds from Russia, israelis etc etc.. The rooms facing the street are noisy an expect lots of ambulances all day and night.The room haven´t black outs so you have a lot of light early in the morning.
Definitively isn´t a 4 stars hotel like advertised.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joaquim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a couple of nights in this hotel due to Danube flooding. The staff were efficient, caring, and ready to help solve problems. The hotel is clean, quite large, and the rooms very comfortable, if a little tired in decor.

I am happy to recommend this hotel - although location is not great. I would suggest that the provision of a courtesy bus say hourly down to the Danube and across to Buda would be a great addition to this hotel's amenity.

However, a great stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamberlainjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment about our hotel.
We are happy to hear that your stay was satisfactory. We can ensure everybody that we do our best for our guests to make their stay enjoyable with us.
Please return to us next time as well.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived at 11:00 and despite the early hour, we got an excellent room. the staff were friendly and helpful. Large double bed, seating area, TV. From the Window you can see the wall of the building next door. 4 quick lifts. Lobby Spacious and quiet. Excellent breakfast buffet, except for the coffee that is terrible. It is just a quick 20 minute walk from the Danube and the opera. Metro line is 500 meters. Excellent and cheap metro. but you can find better hotels nearby tourist places.Our deal included airfare and hotel and was inexpensive, so really nothing to complain about

Room Tip: Recommend to take a room in attractive area. Near the Danube or Opera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoav1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay in our hotel.
It's nice to hear that you were mostly satisfied with us. Our location is close to the international railway station and from here it's easy to reach the most important sightseeings of the town as well.
Please come back and enjoy our services on reasonable prices.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed a long weekend at this hotel after being transferred from another hotel on an island in River Danube. This was effacuated due to excessive flooding and so they put us in this hotel. The city saw the highest flooding of River Danube for over 50 years and many were along river area taking photos and videos because this was so unusual!
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful particularly the reception staff. The bedroom was clean and comfortable but could have been any hotel room in any city as many are similar. They gave us a quiet room at the back so no traffic noise was heard.
The bathroom was clean but only dispenser of shower wash was provided and I would have expected a few more complimentary toiletries for a 4 star hotel. We paid for breakfast each morning as we had been booked on a room only basis and this was a good choice of cold and cooked food including scrambled eggs, french toast, cheese ham, fruit and yoghurts and many pastries bread and jam. Overall this was a good hotel but we were disappointed we could not stay on the island as this hotel had a swimming pool and we would have loved to relax each afternoon by the pool after sightseeing in the morning as it was very hot and sunny while we were there. The Hungaria was quite good to get about from as open top Red bus stopped outside and the metro stop was within easy walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your comment.
We are glad to hear that you have good opinion regarding our services. You helped us to improve them and we are grateful for that.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

first of all this is not a 4 star western european hotel, however,,this is central europe and hungary...the hotel is suitated literraly cms from keleti pu/station..
the rooms are a bit small compared to the uk or usa...but the price was good, okay one thousand reviews said the hotel is dirty or a communist time zone...that is totally false...

the hotel is clean, but do not expect the hilton,marriot or intercontiental 5 star....for the price... televisions and some doors, do need to be updated....
avoid the rooms, close too the main street...go for rooms, above floors 6 or 7 away from the street, especially as keleti pu and all of budapest is a construction site, new metro and squares..

there are some tips for tourists:
1 avoid going to keleti pu late at night alone, no its not the bronx in nyc or the wild west, as some reviews, said it is ..there is not zombies there just harmless prostitutes and unsavoury persons, yes roma and gypsy too...
2 there is a aldi less than 20 meters from the hotel, litteraly by foot across the street, avoid the minibar prices ,for drinks and snacks...
3 be careful on foot ,as all around keleti pu is uneveen sidewalks/footpaths and very bad signage as this is in the middle of construction...most of budapest is undergoing some sort of construction..
4 as most reviews, and guidebooks including time out,lonelyplanet and roughguide say keep away at nightime from the park across the hotel in VIII Ferenvaros
...its not safe for solo travellers at nightime,...and there are many unsavory persons there inc roma and gypsies, without being racist...offering everything from watches,iphones to drink and even sex... there are also sex shops close at hand,,,so dont be too offended if you notice these on your visit here...
5 on most hotel floors are vending machines, these require 500 forint notes first...and are the same price or more expensive than the minibar...so go too aldi or any 24/7 shop either side of rackosi ut...

6 the hotel is on a main street, rackosi ut...the red and green girafe/hop on hop off tour bus is cms away from the hotel entrance...the cheapest and most practical way too see budapest over 24hrs...also in most weathers... esp if your unfamilar with the language,metro and bus timetables.. there are also hop on hop off agents cms from the hotel....

7 this hotel is some 400 meters or more from heroes square, but closer to the metro at keleti pu and astoria...you can with walking shoes..walk all the with too buda from here some 750 meters away..
8 get the hotel to book a taxi, dont even think of getting in one otherwise, unless its recommended in a offical guide...you could be paying £$50-70 pounds/dollars for a 1 mile or less than 650 meters otherwise...the city is well known for rip off taxis...

reputable taxi companies, should have the number,the offical top displaying the price,usally 300-350 forint on getting in, and the name and photo of the driver..clearly displayed...
i personally recommend city taxi...but use, taxis only when hop on hop off bus is not operating ...after 17.30...or if you have no idea, how the metro operates...

9 restaurants on the vaci ut,late night cafes,bars around the vaci ut......beware and forewarned....tourist menus,,,in some but not all places,,,are a red flag for overcharging, bad service and bad hygeine...locals would prefer to eat their own vomit, than frequent some of those in touristy vaci ut.. that get tourists off the street, go by your instint and use or go too a library ,too pick up....roughguide,lonelyplanet and timeout are excellent for restuarant and cafe,bar reviews....
10 SOLO MALES & STAG/HEN NIGHTS...consumption bars, strip clubs and dogy persons on the street...budpest is a safe city...but do not be taken in by silly promotions, and women on the street ...sometimes men...alluring,seducing and inticing you too go here or there...just like in bucharest,sofia,moscow and istanbul... you may as well throw your £$ 50 euro on the floor...than go too some of these places...

11 breakfast is extra at the hotel, is reasonable with fresh bread and sweet,savoury dishes...fresh juice,coffe...rolls et all...is also a reasonable price...compared to some of the crazy prices for tourist breakfast in vaci ut or andrassy ut...at 15 euros or more...
i personally had no problem with the a/c air conditoner.,fully operationable in may....some reviews said it was like saudi arabia or the antartic...in some rooms...too hot or too cold, there is openable windows in rooms....so that is not true...the a/c was perfect...

12 this hotel is the largest one in budapest....full of group check ins and tours...however...it has 4 lifts and 2 laptop/pcs too use...and i had no problems cheking in or out...
the breakfast hall and front lobby is usually full of guests, but can also be dead quite too...
the front door staff are a little (eastern european), in need of humour,very serious about their jobs...:)
but the front desk was very friendly and efficent...

Overall: this hotel is a reasonable budget 3stars.... use the hotel taxi to depart for a resonable price...and see my other reviews...
i used VIATOR.COM & EURAMA.. both tourist,travel affilates and partners for tour guides and minibus arrival...the hotel provides free maps and just ask at the desk for other info...

Room Tip: rooms on floors 7 and 8 away from keleti pu are quiter.... avoid keleti pu at nightime, if your on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jardden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your very detailed opinion regarding your recent stay in our hotel and town.
Our entire staff is working on servicing our distinguished guests at a best possible level.Please come again and enjoy the hotel and the town and the land!
With best regards
Béla CSapó
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 336 in Budapest
1,551 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 336 in Budapest
579 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#72 of 336 in Budapest
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hungaria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $47 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing