We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice view”

Gellert Hill and Statue
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.15*
and up
Private Communist Budapest Tour
Ranked #16 of 455 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The best views of Budapest and the Danube River are from this hill, which also features the imposing fortress, the Citadella, at its summit.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very nice view”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Worth the climb! Beautiful place overlooking the city. A must see in Budapest. Combine it with visiting the citadel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DutchBlokeEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,647
    1,682
    471
    55
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good Climb”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We decided to climb up the hill to get a better view of the city. It was not easy in the cold, but definitely worth it when we got to the top. There are wonderful views and lots of places to sit. You get a clear view of the river and the city below.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MathTraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It was ooookkay...”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I might have been annoyed when we got there because we visited in winter and at night so took a taxi and he ripped us off charging 6000huf for what was a 5min drive.
The statue at the top is quite cool and the views are nice but the view from the castle is far better to be honest.
They don't prune the trees back so it is hard to get a shot without branches hooking in the way.
The walk down (and presumably up if you don't use a ripoff taxi) is long and winding and especially in the winter very cold and slippery.
Possibly during the day there are some stalls and things at the top but I really thought it was a bit of a waste of time (and money but that was my own fault!)

Helpful?
Thank BecBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Really nice view especially during night time. Climbing to uphill is heavy but it is worth of it. From here you can continue to old town and Buda castle.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Attractive statue and park area”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Took a tour which took us up to Gellert Hill. We decided to walk the paths back down the hill to the bridge. It looked like a nice area to spend some time, unfortunately it was raining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ttime222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gellert Hill and Statue also viewed

 

Been to Gellert Hill and Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing