We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Budapest
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden
from $230.72
More Info
from $216.46
More Info
from $214.97
More Info
Reviews (3,824)
Filter reviews
3,824 results
Traveler rating
1,980
1,111
446
144
143
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,980
1,111
446
144
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant house polar bear animal enclosures baby elephant big cats love animals animals seem sea lions wide range of animals japanese garden few hours heroes square entrance fee sloths tiger goats cage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,824 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The variety of animals in this zoo is amazing. It is very easy to navigate and there are some nice exibitions waiting for the visitors inside the buildings.
I have never seen some of the spieces before - polar bears or white rhinos. They are magnificent and seem to be very well looked after.
Great quirk in the middle of the zoo is a bat cave where you can admire those creatures from (very) up close and just walk among them.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Ola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best zoos we ever been at. A large place with a huge verity of animals to see from all around the globe and the best thing is that you get to see them really up close. We were there for about 2.5 hours and could easily have spend 2 more hours.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank DavidUDLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

African animals were kept indoors where you could see them from really close..others like lions in the cold of December..sharks and crocodiles too little

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank SpyrosFls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

A varied but miserable set of animals which I quite felt sorry for. For example, a lot of the enclosures seemed too small for the animals and very un-natural; the Brown Bear was literally sleeping outdoors on its back in a concrete pit lying in the cold and wet..

Overall, the zoo seems pretty run down and in need of some refurbishment. Also, there are doors to exhibits which made us wonder if we were meant to actually be there or if it was a “Staff Only” section, poorly labelled. Despite this it was very cheap and a good central location in the city.

P.S. If you love polar bears kissing and guinea pig villages then this is the zoo for you!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank alfie_bell2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Such a diverse array of animals to see at Budapest zoo, wasn’t the most expensive we have been to which made it great value. The zoo took us at least 4/5 hours to get round when seeing everything and watching the animals interact, they are very lively and fun to see unlike other zoos. Honestly has such good animals and active to say the least it is something you can’t miss when going to Budapest.

Now for a good enjoyable story.

Me and my girlfriend visit a zoo every time we go away and we collect penny pressed coins for every zoo we have seen. (We want to see as many as possible) and unfortunately we could not obtain a pressed coin from this zoo at the time as the machines were out of order. So I emailed them in hope that something could happen. And I came home one day to a letter through the post with 7 pressed penny’s! Such good customer service, very nice people. I cant thank you enough.

Must see!

John

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank johnoa2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews