We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly amazing”

Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.19*
and up
Full-Day Budapest Private Tour by Car or by Public Transport with Lunch
Ranked #27 of 443 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the oldest zoos in Europe, established in 1866, features the hippopotamus, bred in captivity, and an animal nursery of lion and bear cubs.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surprisingly amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to Budapest Zoo at the last day of our trip and did not expect a lot (planned to spend there about 2 hours). But we were so impressed by the Zoo that we spend a lot of time there and were really satisfied (although it was in the middle of winter).
The Zoo is rather big, has a lot of animals and related information (like their exploration center). We have visited other zoos in Europe and can say that Budapest zoo is in the same row with the most famous ones (like e.g. in Prague and Berlin).
For sure the zoo visit takes some time (I would say not less than 4 hours). So it is a good choice if your Budapest trip is not very intensive and you like zoos.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank knerrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    784
    295
    82
    70
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Level Contributor
195 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A classical old fashioned zoo with plenty of modernism”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Do not expect great, very clean environment, but as it is: a nice, well stuffed zoo with healthy animals, friendly stuff and plenty of children when the weather is good. Concrete rocks and some orientalist touch can also be found.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We decided to visit the zoo even though it was Dec. 26th 2013 . The weather was not too cold but I think it would have been better to do this in the summer. Many of the animals were inside and we could not see them all. But there were still many that we saw and so the experience was a good one.
The zoo has paths that lead around the many animal houses and areas and the paths are clearly marked as to what area you are going into . The Budapest Zoo had many baby animals born this year and at the front gate they have the photos and the dates and the names of all the new babies which I think was a wonderful touch. The zoo is large and even though there were many people you never felt crowded . There are programs with movies in 3D and 4D that are enjoyable.
There are many signs with a lot of information about the area and the animals and this is my only complaint...... all the signs and information and pamphlets were in Hungarian. Not one sign was in English. I have been to other zoos and information has always been in multiple languages. I was very surprised to see Hungarian only at this zoo. There were many people and many were not Hungarian.
I understand they are expanding the zoo and maybe they will upgrade the signs and pamphlets with other languages also.
The Zoo is located in the City Park were people can ice skate and feed the ducks swimming in the warm water. Plan on spending a whole day there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pitzicatBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Being December the Zoo was almost empty. There were lots of baby animals running and playing around which was good. The tiger cubs were great! The zoo had sloths which are quite uncommon in zoo's and i've never seen any before. These were really funny to watch slowly moving around upside down! They came really close to the camera too so we got some great pictures. There were lots of animals to see and the zoo was quite large; it took us around 3 hours to see everything. It was in walking distance from the centre of Budapest so easy to get to on foot or by metro. Also for some reason it was half price the day we visited so only cost us around £3.50 each!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant enviroment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The place is very well made and most animals seem to be in places quite close to their natural environment. Although big animals seem to be in limited areas and I think it would be better to give them more space.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evi_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing