We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A joy to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden

Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.29*
and up
Full-Day Budapest Private Tour by Car or by Public Transport with Lunch
Ranked #26 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the oldest zoos in Europe, established in 1866, features the hippopotamus, bred in captivity, and an animal nursery of lion and bear cubs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A joy to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I read that it is the best zoo in the world, so I made sure I visit it. I went on the hottest day of the year there and the poor animals looked out of energy. However I enjoyed the visit tremendously and I've seen animals that I haven't seen before, like the one in Madagascar movie (but I can't remember its name!!) . It is very organized and the signs are everywhere so you won't get lost.

The zoo is family and children friendly with plenty of things to do and see.

The zoo is a few minutes away from Hero Square.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Romaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,415
    769
    289
    78
    67
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Returning to the zoo after 5 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am not a zoo fan in general, but loved this experience. I was there 5 years ago and there were a lot of new developments and programs. It is always good to see "new faces", like the baby elephant, the young lions and meerkats. Although there was a lot of traffic we could see everything we wanted with the kids and in a great atmosphere. I hope conditions are going to be even better soon (for the animals and visitors, too), now that they can widen the territory. We enjoyed the live shows and met the guy on the picture below :) (photo taken with a phone, sorry for the quality). My only regret was not to take the camera with me though it helped a lot to concentrate on the experience itself. We had a great time, and it was a good place in Budapest. Worth to see it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norbert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sad to see animals in such a distressed state”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We went with high hopes to find so many animals,birds,monkeys all somewhat distressed and living in asmall dirty cramped environment . Compared to other Zoos we have visited the Budapest Zoo is not a animal friendly environment , the polar bear was encompassed in a tragic pen of types aimlessly marching to and fro along with the tiger and lions also in dirty pens very sad experience we weren't happy to see the animals in this state .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Zoo worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I am not usually a fan of Zoos, preferring safari parks, however my daughter loves them so whilst in Budapest we went to the Zoo. It's not too big and easy to walk round over a half day or longer if you wanted. The animal enclosures looked good and te animals looked healthy. All in all a great little zoo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unique and fun experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Budapest Zoo is great value at about $11 per adult. It has a lot of animals and the enclosures are surprisingly "open". Here are some of our highlights:
1. Two-toed sloths were out in the open and could be touched
2. Saw a python having a rabbit for dinner
3. Interacted with a camel
4. Incredible gorilla habitat

The zoo is very clean and the enclosures are more natural (not a lot of cages). When we visited, many of the animals had given birth so there were lots of babies! Fun-filled day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNtravelbugs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing