We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view by night!”
Review of Citadel

Citadel
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.29*
and up
Budapest by Night Tour with Dinner and Folklore Show
More Info
$32.35*
and up
Budapest TukTuk Experience - Riverbanks of Danube
More Info
$70.70*
and up
Budapest Tuk Tuk Tour
Ranked #35 of 472 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the summit of Gellert Hill, this fortress was built by the Hapsburgs in 1854 to keep the city under surveillance.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Amazing view by night!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is just THE PLACE to go if you want to enjoy a good view. My boyfriend and I went there by night and I must admit that this is probably the most romantic view I ever got. Definitely worth a visit!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    531
    199
    37
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent place to take a picture of Budapest”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is The place if you want to take a picture of Budapest but be careful that the weather is clear.
The view from here is so amazing and you can spend some hours here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views.. You must go!!! ”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

When researching Budapest and the places to visit we did not see anything about the Citadella but was recommended by a taxi driver.

We visited after dinner for a relaxing walk and to see the views, this by far was a highlight to our Holiday. You are able to see for miles over the bustling city!
Highly recommended!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank TheNewfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GO FOR AWESOME VIEWS”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a spot where you can get great views. You can see the entire parliament from here as its sitting spred out by the Danube. On a good day you can see to a great distance. Nearly all the bridges are visible. And once I waited for the nightfal. You will see all the lights twinkle and shimmer, and the city becomes more magical.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dvsnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice view”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

takiing pictures here are so nice so do not miss it**, the rest is very communistic as well as the statute but wworth of seeing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marijaarbanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citadel also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing