We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It dominates the city and at night is a heavenly site..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Danube Palace

Danube Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.03*
and up
Danube Symphony Orchestra Cimbalom Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner...
Ranked #94 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Danube Palace was built between 1883 and 1885, in a splendid Neo-Baroque style according to the plans of Vilmos Freund. At that time it was known as the casino of Lipotvaros - but not in the term of gambling, but an aristocratic club for entertainment. From its built till the Second World War the Palace served as a place of culture, supported many young artists, and even Bartok, Kodaly, Dvorak played in its first-class concert hall. Since 1951 the building was carrying out the cultural programs of the Ministry of Internal Affairs.Nowadays the beautiful halls and rooms of the Danube Palace are hosting cultural, social and gala events like weddings and Folklore performances.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Budapest
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“It dominates the city and at night is a heavenly site..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is just a great experience.The whole of the city can be seen from the hill on which the Palace is built..
Come and enjoy..Lots of reastaurants, bars, coffee houses and your camera will never stop clicking ( if cameras do that nowadays)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank filmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    3
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent performance - well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I saw the symphony in September 2013. The program last approximately 90 minutes with a short intermission. Although geared towards tourists, the musicians are professional and the conductor did a masterful job in invigorating the audience and it was absolutely enjoyable. If I am ever back in Budapest I would see this show again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eas51006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Traditional Music/Dance Performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We saw a performance of the Danube Folk Ensemble at the Duna Palota / Danube Palace. We booked the tickets on-line before leaving home for our trip to Budapest. I think that many tour groups attend, so I was worried that if we waited until our arrival, then we might not be able to get tickets. The performance was very enjoyable. The dancers wore colorful, traditional costumes, and performed to traditional Hungarian music. I think that it lasted about 90 minutes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Danube Fold Dance at the Duna Palota, Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We attended this show in August 2013 and had a thoroughly great experience. This was an excellent show and I would recommend it if you are in Budapest. Some great musicians and dancers.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank eevelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Splendid Venue in The Baroque Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Duna Palota in Budapest is an elegant auditorium with comfortable seats and scrumptious accents. I attended one of the Hungaria Koncert performances. This included an orchestra of a dozen amazing musician showmen and five pairs of folk dancers. The musicians sell CDs during the intermission and mingle with the crowd adding a very personal touch to the Koncert. The dancers are also top drawer. I was in the second row and very much enjoyed myself throughout the performance.

This is located convenient to the Deak Ferenc ter so if your hotal is close to a metro station you will have a short but fun walk from the Deak to the Palota! I did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tzsm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube Palace also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Danube Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing