We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Creme de la Creme of Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Creme de la Creme of Hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2005

We have stayed at several of the world's finest hotel, and this Four Seasons surpasses them all! From the moment we checked in, the impeccable service began. Our junior suite was outstanding, and spotless. Fruit and bottled water was replenished daily, and a call to housekeeping was answered within five minutes. The concierge staff was extremely helpful and knowlegeable. Everybody knew our name by the second day. Kudos to the staff of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wizard649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,990
    199
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
373
1,042
115
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2005

Facilities: Perhaps not Budapest's foremost example of art nouveau, but darn near close, and certainly Budapest's foremost example of restored art noveau. The facade and entry are overwhelming and as other posts have mentioned the location is perfect.

Service. Exemplary. Even if United Airlines hadn't lost our baggage (which the concierge desk tenaciously pursued for three days until its arrival) or if United Airlines hadn't been delayed over 5 hours (causing us to miss our connection and our concert at the Opera, upon which the Four Seasons employed their considerable weight to procure balcony seats to a sold-out concert the following night), I'd remain convinced that we'd received the best patron service to date.

In the pre-planning stages, Four Seasons was helpful in procuring dinner and event reservations, not only for our stay in Budapest, but also for our cycling tour in Northern Hungary. And speaking of cycling, they tolerated our road bikes (and the accompanying sizable bike cases), conveniently storing both without being asked. While cycling, the Four Seasons graciously stored our excess baggage until our return. And upon our return, we found thoughtful gifts, including champagne to celebrate our first anniversary. Chocolate covered strawberries, cookies and other Hungarian treats appeared each night thereafter.

My husband and I could only be classified as "difficult" clients at best and the Four Seasons rose to and superseded the occasion.

The only downside: If you crave immersion in decadent art nouveau, the experience ends once you leave the ground floor. However, the pains of "art nouveau" withdrawal are felt only for a moment. The bedroom and bathroom offers modern luxuries that more than compensate.

Tip: Even if capable and willing to do the groundwork and make reservations (as I am), request that the Four Seasons make the reservation on your behalf. For obvious reasons, they are highly respected within the community and as such, their clients are treated exceptionally well. We were cared for as royalty everywhere we went.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

We have travelled throughout the world, but seldom have we seen a hotel with such wondeful architecture, location and service to match. It usually easy to get the style right but unusual (in our experience) to have such a high standard of service (particularly in Europe). The location is great on the river. The hotel has been renovated to a very high standard and has beautiful style. The service from the front-door staff to the house maid was top notch. Only downside is no buffet breakfast (a la carte only). But still wondeful quality food. Would recommend highly to anybody visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2005

Wow. First to echo what everyone else has said. The location is perfect for both Buda and Pest. And the building itself is stunning both inside and out - you can see that they really did spend $100m on the renovations! We arrived very late at night and had booked the limousine transfer from the airport. In the event for some reason they sent a taxi but they were very apologetic about this and obviously charged us the lower rate. Arriving after midnight we were impressed to fid the full panoply of doormen and bellboys still at their stations and our bags were in the room before we were. We had booked a standard room but they upgraded us to the next level. To be honest I don't know what that brought us. The room was of a very high quality with an enormous bathroom and high ceilings but there was no "wow factor" to speak of - certainly not the view which was over an internal light well. Our rate included breakfast which we took in the room. Both mornings it arrived promptly and with no omissions - almost unheard of in my experience of other 5 star hotels! We also ate in the Pava Restaurant and would highly recommend an evening there - excellent food and service at around £25 ($40) a head plus wine. In short certainly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at!

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank aristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2005

I made a last-minute reservation (booked online and moved in on the same day) at the Gresham Palace when my original Budapest accommodation didn't work out, and am I ever glad I made the change! I cannot say enough about this beautiful palace of a hotel. This is how five star service should be - perfect in every way. For 199 Euros a night, I had a luxurious room with a very grand bathroom and breakfast included (either via room service or the restaurant) each morning. The breakfast was delicious, including a pitcher of fresh-squeezed orange juice, plentiful and varied - although I did fall in love with the lemon-ricotta pancakes and the fruit brioche french toast. The room service was also excellent, and very accommodating of my food allergies. The service overall was top-notch, very efficient and courteous. Wonderful location, close to everything which is appreciated in a city as walkable as Budapest. Great piano bar from which one could soak in the gorgeous architecture. Congratulations to the Four Seasons for restoring this Art Nouveau palace - it is a real gem, in a gem of a city. I stayed at the Gresham Palace for a week, and it made my trip to Budapest extra-special. I am now spoiled when it comes to hotels, and I can't wait to return to the Gresham!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Eudoxxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2005

We visited Sept 4-8. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels. This is the most beautiful one we have ever seen. The service was typical four seasons-- excellent. Budapest is a great city to visit but if the whole trip was only inside this hotel it would have been sufficient.

Helpful?
7 Thank jebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2005

We stayed two nights at the Gresham and found it to be one of the best hotels we've stayed at in recent years. First the location at the foot of the Chain Bridge is so centrally located that we walked everywhere from the time we arrived until we left. Second, our room was large, superbly appointed with a very large bathroom and awesome shower. Third, the service was old style European: attentive, prompt, and unobtrusive. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but the range and quality of selections was more than adequate. Marta at the concierge desk found us restaurants that were primarily used by locals but still spoke English passably. Our only regret was that we had just two nights at the Gresham.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank wmccfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,592 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing