We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Flawless Hotel (except the WiFi)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flawless Hotel (except the WiFi)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is beautiful (you can ask at the Front Desk for a tour). It is a faithfully restored "palace" that is staffed by competent, caring and knowledgeable people who all seem to take great pride in it. The breakfast is outstanding--especially if you enjoy goose foie gras, a Hungarian specialty--buy some at the Central Market before you go home as a yummy souvenir of an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Ask the Front Desk for a tour of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It is great pleasure reading your review on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent visit to Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I appreciate your passionate words about the beauty of our building, the quality of our breakfast and especially the competence and helpfulness of our employees.

I am very happy to learn that our staff were true Four Seasons ambassadors who greatly contributed to your memorable experience in our hotel.

Please also be assured that we have taken a good note of your remarks regarding the difficulty of using our wifi connection.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel to all Tripadvisor readers and travelers!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    173
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
314
927
93
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is all about location as it is in walking distance to many tourist sites, shopping and dining. Exit the hotel and turn left for the Vaci Utca, turn right and around the block for more shopping. A scenic park is in the loop outside the front door and the Chain Bridge beckons a crossing of the Danube to the Royal Palace. Our room on the 5th floor offered spectacular views across the Danube to the Royal Palace and of the Chain Bridge, both beautifully lit at night. We visited as part of a group that also utilized the well-appointed conference facilities. The service at the hotel was very good and friendly. Our only complaint is a chain-wide Four Seasons issue. As frequent travelers we have become accustomed to excellent wi-fi availability and the convenience of self-made coffee service, neither of which were offered in our upgraded room. The "free" wi-fi was limited to 2 devices and required constant restarting. The upgraded wi-fi was not worth the price since we already pay for 3G service from our local provider. Overall a satisfactory experience

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your description as to what one can expect when visiting Budapest and Four Seasons Gresham Palace is highly appreciated. It is great that you were also quite impressed by the wonderful views of the Chain Bridge and the Castle District of your room, as well as you managed to discover so much of what Budapest has to offer. I am sure many who plan to visit us will find your review a valuable source of information.

Although you were very satisfied with our location, staff and service, we also well noted your disappointment with our wifi Internet connection. Please rest assured that we take all our guests’ comments seriously. Like all Four Seasons hotels, we have put a great amount of effort, resources and care into developing an exquisite product. Nevertheless we accept that we always have room to improve and that we can benefit from the constructive feedback of our guests.
Your feedback is much appreciated as is your continued support of Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your personal Four Seasons experience in Budapest with all the travelers around the world and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

With the exception of somehow patchy wifi signal - this hotel is faultless.
it often happens that i ask my colleagues - how was your business trip to budapest and it's a rare occasion when they dont mention the experience in this hotel.

truly outstanding.

Room Tip: the nice view rooms are slighly noisier. for the business travellers that arrive in the evening and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Your overwhelming feedback is much appreciated, I am so glad we made such an impression! Thank you so much for your support. Be assured that we also noted you were not completely satisfied with our wifi connection.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was by far one of the most interesting and beautiful hotels I have ever seen, not to mention super clean, comfortable, and with the best location in the city! Our room overlooked the Danube River, right at the "Chain Bridge" and you could literally walk to various landmarks, restaurants, bars, shopping, and more. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Budapest thanks to the staff and location of this hotel. Katya, the bar manager, was particularly helpful in catering to our every need; if she didn't know the answer, she would get it for you right away. The restaurant has a wonderful breakfast buffet with fresh, local, and typical fare. The rooms were spacious, super comfortable, and had great views. The lobby, lounge, bar, and other areas are exquisitely decorated with fresh flowers everywhere, beautiful details, and even live piano every evening. We will certainly be back just to stay in this fine establishment! :)

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are considered the best rooms in the hotels here. Rooms facing the river provide n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I appreciate your passionate words regarding the beauty, the décor, the atmosphere and the advantegous location of our hotel. Thank you for pointing out your memorable dining experience and the professional approach of Katalin Balázs, our Assistant Restaurant & Bar Manager, who did her best to attend all your needs and enquiries, properly replying to your questions. Our aim is to provide a personalized experience for each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that she succeeded.

I am glad that we managed to contribute to your vacation that I hope was truly a memorable one.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is ideally located to EVERYTHING. It is a place for people to walk into look at the stained glass and Chandelier. Expensive. Duh. Food is fantastic. Rooms lovely. Staff, unbelievable. Shop very chic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T2a2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
I am extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us.
It is certainly a great reward for us to read such overwhelmingly positive feedback from our guests. Thank you for recommending our Hotel to all Tripadvisor readers and travellers!

Sincerely,


Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have now been hear for two nights with four to go and if they are as good as we have had it will certainly live up to its reputation. Over many, many years we have stayed at Four seasons hotels around the world and whilst they have always been good this one is outstanding.
The renovation has transformed this into a beautiful majestic hotel that could not fail to impress anyone.
The staff that greeted us at the door when we arrived were friendly and following a quick checki in showed us to our room. Whilst we usually get an upgrade, but not available when we arrived the room we have looks out over the Chain bridge and is glorious at night. The double glazing takes out 95% of the noise and is complete with a small balcony. The room is spacious and very we'll appointed and anything we have asked for has been supplied quickly
Breakfast on the terrace is delightfully and a cocktail beside the piano player is a perfect place to finish the day for dinner.
We cannot fail to mention the concierges who offer excellent service in a friendly manner.
This is definitely one of the grand hotels.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
First of all allow me to thank you for honoring our Hotel with such generous ranking as one of the best hotels in the world.

I was delighted to learn you had a fabulous experience due to the beauty of our building, the comfort and the peacefulness of your room, as well as the quality of our hospitality. It is so rewarding to read that the service you received from us matched the splendour of our property. It is with great pleasure to share your compliments with the entire team, especially with our Concierge staff, who did their best to ensure your stay with us was so memorable.

Again thank you for recommending us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Until then, thank you for taking the time to share your personal Four Seasons experience with the travellers’ world.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Wow! This hotel is gorgeous and our room is large and beautiful. The service level is top notch. Several people working here called us by name after we we're here only a few hours. Angela at the concierge desk was so friendly and extremely helpful. She recommended a great, authentic Hungarian restaurant. Food was delicious, wonderful service.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade. If available, they may give it to you. Also, choose a room with a River vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am extremely happy to note that you are enjoying your time with us and I appreciate your praising words of our beautifully restored historic building. It is great that our Concierges, especially Anita are able to contribute to a most enjoyable experience assisting you with appropriate restaurant and program recommendations.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 6,193 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#5 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing