We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A landmark in the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A landmark in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here but had seen the hotel featured in several travel programs as it is a landmark in budapest! Took lunch here in the restaurant.... Goulash, Hungarian pancakes after.... Food was delicious, service fantastic and waiters super friendly.... Perfect spot to stop before or after heading across the Chain Bridge to explore the city. Next time we will stay here as the hotel is amazing and a great location!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It is great to learn that you stopped by at our hotel’s restaurant for lunch recently.
I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your whole experience; highlighting the quality of our Goulash and Hungarian Pancakes and the friendly service you received from our staff.

It is wonderful that we were able to enhance your visit to this charming city.

We hope that next time you will be staying with us!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    198
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
356
1,025
111
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting Budapest for business, and I just stop buy to have some quick lunch! No reservation was made.I was nicely inform about there popular power lunches , but I stick with the main a la cart menu.
For starter I had the foie gras, a combo from terrine and cooked foie gras to. Was a perfect appetizer portion and really nicely presented plate, but for me the cooked foie gras was a little overdone.
The " durbincs" Fish main corse was perfectly cooked and filled me up just right.
The building , " the Gresham" palace is in a perfect location, and very well renovated , a high class place to represent the 5* four season.
Personally I think this is the most beautiful FS which I ever visited.
Good luck , and I will be back for sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kobykoby17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It is nice to learn that you decided to stop by at our hotel for lunch one of these past days.
I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your whole experience.

I was also impressed to read that you were so much captured by the beauty and the artistic details of our Palace and very generously positioned our Hotel as the most beautiful Four Seasons you have ever visited in the world during your travels. It is extremely honorable to read your praising words.

We hope that next time you will be staying with us!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

we had a perfect 24 hour stay.
the concierge was fabulous. she managed to put together a plan and city tour for us within minutes.
My only criticism would be about brunch. We caught the last few minutes of breakfast and it was not a very good meal. My eggs came out completely wrong and the turkey sausage was disgusting. The waitress offered to change my eggs but i did not want to wait.
The lunch the day before though was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarag7229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
I value your feedback regarding your stay at the Four Seasons Gresham Palace in March 2014.
I was delighted to see that you were impressed with the quick and spot-on service provided to you by our Concierge and that overall you had a great stay.

Nevertheless I was concerned to learn that we did not fully meet your expectation in all areas of the hotel as you mentioned that unfortunately your Sunday brunch meal in Gresham Restaurant was not as pleasantly and nicely presented to you as you would have expected.

Please be assured that your comments are highly appreciated and well noted as they are the most valuable tool for us to improve certain areas that need some further attention to detail. Although I am glad that the lunch you had a day prior was a great experience.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This is, simply put, the finest hotel I've ever experienced. Their customer service is second-to-none, as you would expect from a Four Seasons, but here the staff really go above and beyond to ensure a positive experience. Before arriving, we made a dinner reservation as it was a holiday weekend in Budapest. They innocently asked if it was a special occasion (it was our anniversary). The restaurant staff obviously told the other staff, and we were truly treated specially. We were upgraded to a river view room, were given champagne on arrival, and were treated to a special dessert at dinner. The hotel itself is a simply stunning Secessionist dream (worth seeing in itself), the food (the breakfast, the restaurant, room service, and at the bar) is excellent, and the room (bed, bath, and balcony) is top-notch. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank nanler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Pure class the renovations have been done so well, everything exudes class, the service was great and well worth a stay or just a coffee if you are passing, as with all hotels of this ilk it is expensive but you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Four Seasons Gresham Palace for your recent stay in Budapest. I was delighted to read that you took great pleasure in the décor and architecture of the Palace, the result of a careful restoration of this beautiful building.

It was great to learn that we managed to make a fine impression and you had a memorable stay with us.

I truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very very friendly staff and nice rooms. The location is excellent, there are some good restaurants around.

The only thing that I wasnt happy about was the breakfast; the choices were limited and it was highly expensive for that were offering

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKTalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here at the Four Seasons Gresham Palace Budapest.

I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the services provided by our staff as well as your room.

It is through the feedback of our guests that we can best improve our facilities and services, so I thank you for pointing out that we did not meet your expectation in terms of breakfast selection and price. Thank you very much again for your constructive comments.

I assure you that we take your feedback seriously and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Gresham Palace.

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, HI
Level Contributor
365 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is truly a 5-Star hotel! We loved the location, we loved the staff's attention to detail, we enjoyed the restaurant, but mostly ~ oh my goodness, what a view! We debated whether the upgrade for the view of the Danube and the Chain Bridge was worth the extra ~ let me assure you, when you come in at night after soaking up all that Buda and Pest have to offer, and you whip open those curtains to see the bridge and then the city and then the Castle on the hill all lit up at night ~ well, it's one of those things you will never forget! Small thing, maybe, but I loved that we could throw open the doors and stand out on the little balcony and soak up the sounds and sights of the city. The staff is expertly trained to make your stay as wonderful as possible. We had laundry sent out, flawless. We were leaving super early for a tour with friends and asked for coffee to go -- no problem! The building itself is beautiful ~ a great example of a historic building that has been restored and updated without compromising all those special elements. We noticed that there were a few tourists who came in just for pictures, it is truly that special. If we returned to this wonderful city, we would not hesitate to stay here again. It added so much to our Budapest experience!

Room Tip: We recommend a room with a view of the river! Just do it! It will add so much to your overall expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace last year in October. It was great to read that you had such a memorable visit and that you were pleased with the helpful and spot-on service provided by our staff.

I was also very happy to learn that you enjoyed the architecture and the results of the careful restoration of our beautiful Hotel. Thank you for highlighting that the upgrade you were hesitant to take for a Danube View Room was well worth it and that the gorgeous view from the step-out balcony to the illuminated city of Budapest during the evenings even turned to be the highlight of your stay.

We are so lucky to have such guests like you who take their valuable time and post their praising comments on the Tripadvisor website nearly half-a-year after their visit to the Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing