We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great finish to our European vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #2 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great finish to our European vacation”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent one night at the Four Seasons Sept 22 after our river cruise. We were upgraded to a King Suite which was huge, clean, well appointed and a fantastic view towards the Danube and beyond- just a magnificent room!. We got to the hotel before noon yet they had a room ready for us. We were greeted by friendly and very professional staff. The hotel is central to the Budapest sites- we walked for miles! Not much more to say other than it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Get a King Suite if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I was thrilled to read your most kind feedback of your unfortunately very short stay with us at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I was very happy that you liked your spacious suite and the stunning views across the Danube.

I would like to especially thank you for complimenting our staff. There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations.

You are always welcome to return to Four Seasons Gresham Palace!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,091
    210
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
396
1,096
120
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved our 3-night stay at the Gresham Palace! The location is perfect, and we were upgraded to a Danube view overlooking Chain Bridge. It is a beautiful building inside and out.

But what really sets this hotel apart is the staff. They are delightful, polished, professional, gracious and most of them are also insanely goodlooking. Every detail was perfect. Without exception, we received wonderful service at every interaction: check-in, breakfasts, dinner in the hotel (best meal we had in Budapest!), housekeeping, the pool/spa, and the concierge (so helpful!). What was especially nice is that a stay at Gresham Palace is upscale without any arrogance or pretense.

If you are considering booking this hotel, do it! Yes, it was a splurge for us that we did not make without a little apprehension. But we were sooooooooo glad we did. We had a wonderful stay and now have wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Consider finding a Virtuoso Travel Agent on the Internet and book through them to get a free contine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marinmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I highly appreciated your generous feedback in regards to your recent stay with us! I was delighted to read that the architecture and the décor of our building appealed to your eyes and the service provided by all our staff served your complete satisfaction. It has always been our aim to hire employees with a positive attitude who are able to embrace the Four Seasons philosophy and share our common values. I was delighted to learn from you that we succeeded. I will certainly share your praising words with all of them.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a wonderful 4 nights at the Gresham! Great location, fantastic service. Cocktail lounge service and drinks were excellent! Only had breakfast at the restaurant no meals as there are several fantastic restaurants in Budapest. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean. Jacuzzi was wonderful to soak in and fitness centre was adequate.

Room Tip: Spa is on the 5th floor as is the pool. So a short walk if you stay on this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay during these 4 days you spent in this beautiful city recently.

You are always welcome to return to Four Seasons Gresham Palace!

Best regards,


Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently spent six nights here. We took advantage of their "third night free" special. It was perfection. The room was fantastic, with a view of the Danube, St. Mattias, and the Hapsburg's summer palace. The location was the best there can be. We were able to walk across the Chain Bridge and be in Buda in about fifteen minutes. We walked to many wonderful restaurants in Pest, walked to St. Stephen's Cathedral and Square, walked to the market (thirty minutes). The concierge's restaurant recommendations were exactly what we requested (Michelin-recommended, but no stars; nice but not over the top). They took care of our reservation to the Gellert Baths, even providing us with a bag, towels, slippers and shampoo. The piano player in their bar is gracious and wonderful. And....the weinerschnitsel in the Gresham restaurant was fantastic. The furnishings are beyond compare as is the service. All in all, we recommend the Four Seasons Gresham Palace with out any hesitation. We also recommend Budapest as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Danube and Chain Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsrymm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic, detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. Your great description as to what one can expect when visiting the Four Seasons Gresham Palace is highly appreciated, the same as your positive notes about our staff, highlighting our piano player and our employees at the Concierge desk, who were able to make tailor-made recommendations taking account of your needs.

I was extremely happy to read that you felt you had a fantastic stay with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Gresham Palace last weekend and I have only praise for this marvellous hotel and its remarkable staff. The property is elegant, beautifully maintained and sits in an enviable position on the Danube, overlooking Chain Bridge and the National Gallery beyond. The service we received from each and every staff member we encountered was uniformly sublime--helpful, friendly and attentive without ever feeling intrusive. At every turn, we felt well looked-after and a little bit pampered. I had a number of special requests in advance of our arrival and the concierge could not have been more helpful and efficient. We were only in Budapest for a weekend and the whole experience was made more special because we stayed at the Gresham Palace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ00174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here at the Four Seasons Gresham Palace Budapest. We are very happy to learn that you were well looked after by our employees, especially our Concierge staff. Indeed, we have long known our employees are eager to ensure our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are very proud that the service you received for us prompted you to write.

We are also extremely pleased to learn that you enjoyed the location of our building, the ambience of our hotel and its architectural beauty.

Once again thank you for your valuable time to write and post your experience in relation to your experience in our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again whenever your travels take you to Budapest.

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for drinks and desserts as had been suggested by other tripadvisor reviewers. The hotel is absolutely stunning, beautifully restored and conveniently located right by the Danube river and famous Chain bridge. Highly recommend the gorgeous little cakes, the cucumber lime lemonade and the blueberry sage lemonade. Very refreshing on a hot day. Staff were exemplary, really friendly and attentive: they could not do enough for us. They kept bringing out more bar nibbles as soon as they noticed we were enjoying the tomato bread and olives initially provided with the drinks.
Would definitely return and hope to stay at the hotel next time we are in Budapest!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments in relation to your experience in our Gresham Restaurant on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to learn that even if unfortunately you did not stay with us, you still stopped by for drinks and cakes in our Hotel. Your feedback on the quality of our cocktails and pastry is greatly appreciated and I am extremely happy that you find our staff friendly and courteous.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This Four Seasons property deserves great recognition as a premier hotel under qualified and experienced leadership. I truly believe it is a benchmark of "best practice" in all areas of its operations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We appreciate your praise and patronage and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again whenever your travels take you to Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#3 of 334 in Budapest
1,082 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing