We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Memorable Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #4 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was our Honeymoon and the Hotel went out of there way to make us feel special. The great service compliments the incredible building that houses the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
I would like to thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest for celebrating this wonderful occasion. I was delighted to read that our staff made you feel special. The Gresham Palace building is indeed very special and I am glad our staff and service contributed to a very memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    172
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
313
926
93
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Well there is not much for me to add here that other reviewers have not already covered. Location, decor, ambience, service, and views of the bridge are all reasons to visit this hotel. Christmas Day brunch was delicious, with a wide variety of fine foods that should suit just about anyone's preferences, and the unlimited champagne and beverages was nice too. I was very happy with the concierge and front-desk staff suggesting options for touring the city as well as securing dinner reservations. FYI - dinner at the Sofitel next door is quite nice too. The room is great - ample closet space, large comfortable bed, L'Occitane bath products, and the i-pod docking station was a nice touch. I also enjoyed the petit fours delivered to our room every night and the housekeeping service was impeccable. And if you like paying for sex, look no further. Every night there are several female prostitutes working the area around the hotel and the other hotels next door (i.e.Sofitel, Intercontintel). My partner and I quickly grew annoyed with their unrelentless offers, but there's not much the hotel can do about them.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd floor overlooking the bridge was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broc912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace over the Holidays. I know your time is valuable and it means a lot to us when our guests give us feedback. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Christmas Day Brunch at the Hotel and that you were pleased with the services of our Concierge and Front Desk staff who offered you fine programs and secured reservations. Thank you for bringing to my attention that the ladies of the night are still disturbing our guests. This is an issue that has been brought up with the city authorities on several occasions, and we will keep on pushing until a solution is found.
Thank you also for your nice remarks regarding the hotel décor, I am glad you found your room comfortable and the housekeeping service impeccable.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

have just returned from a birthday stay at four seasons.have had the pleasure of staying in some wonderful places around the world and this hotel ranks at the top! from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was first class.a beautiful room with a fantastic view. amazing service from every member of staff....a very tasty complimentary birthday cake delivered to our room..we were made to feel very very special indeed.the creme de la creme was my experience with my treatments in the spa...unbelievable and i go to alot of spas! amazing massage and facial...out of this world. A HUGE THANK YOU to everybody who looked after us while we were there,just wished it could have been longer...go on treat yourselves to a magical stay at the four seasons.. from suzanne and hani.

Room Tip: higher floors for a river view are better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneFarnhamSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest for celebrating this special occasion. I was delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your whole experience, I am glad that you were pleased with our facilities and services, especially the treatments received in our Spa. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with your therapist Ms. Dalma Koppány and the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

From the moment we were picked up at the airport we knew this was going to be a great experience & we weren't disappointed. the staff were excellent, very professional but still very caring. Our rooms were magnificent, very very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest in December. I appreciate your kind words about our staff whom you found very professional and caring. I was delighted to read that you liked your room as well.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel in a suite. It was a lovely room but not what I would have expected for the price. It was just a large room with a sitting area not a suite. The bathroom was another issue. I would expect that in a suite the bathroom would be large enough to separate the toilet with a door from the rest of the bathroom. We also felt that for the price we were paying Internet should have been included. It was an additional $35 per device per day for Internet usage. That was an additional $70 per day. Ridiculous! We ate at the restaurant one night and it was excellent. We also had a drink in the lobby bar while listening to the piano player and that was lovely, but very, very expensive! The location of the hotel is
very good and we could walk to many places. Budapest is a beautiful, friendly city. Wonderful food, beautiful views of the river and fun
markets make it a great place to visit. While this hotel is beautiful, has excellent service and is in a good location it was not worth what we paid. I've stayed in many other Four Seasons and felt that their value for dollar was much greater.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgette41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace. I was delighted to read that you were pleased with the location of the Hotel as well as your dining experience and that you enjoyed your time spent in beautiful Budapest.
I was concerned, however, to learn that you felt like you did not receive good value for you money. Please rest assured that your notes regarding the room layout as well as the internet fees have been taken good note of. We take our guests’ feedback very seriously as it is our greatest tool for improving our facilities and services in order to best serve the needs of our clients.

If you wish to discuss your concerns any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at yves.giacometti@fourseasons.com.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Wonderful hotel with a very nice staff and idealy located (close to the chain bridge). The spa and the swimming pool are beautiful. The breakfast is good and the restaurant room is very agreable.
I recommand this hotel !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clotilde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
I would like to thank you for your kind words posted online regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest. I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the location and the décor, as well as the restaurant and the Spa of the Hotel.

Best regards,
Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I checked in on Dec 29th to celebrate the new year in Budapest. When shown to our room and after a complimentary upgrade from our credit card company, we were less than thrilled with our accomodations and mentioned this to the gentleman checking us into our room. He excused himself from our room to go check to see if another room might be available, and returned within minutes to show us to our new room. The new room blew us away. We were on the second floor with a balcony facing out to the Chain Bridge spanning the Danube, with views that included Castle Hill, Fisherman's Bastion, and Matyas Church across the river. I must say this wasn't without uptick in our room rate, but it was well worth the extra money.

After settling in, we decided to head out to explore Budapest. After walking out the front door and again marvelling at the view, we headed out to check out the Christmas fairs which were taking place only a few minutes walk away. St. Stephen's Basilica, Parliament, and many other great sights to see are only minutes in each direction. We couldn't imagine a better location for a hotel.

The hotel itself is beautiful in every way, with an excellent lobby bar offering live piano music most nights. Although we did happen to run across one staff member that seemed a bit curt (maybe she was having a bad day), the rest of the staff was friendly and made sure our every need was satisfied. But to compare it to other FS locations, there seemed to be a VERY slight disconnect with some of the service. At other FS locations, any reservations, whether for dinner, excursions, or transfers were confirmed with a note under our door each morning. This wasn't done here. Not the end of the world but a nice touch.

Our spa appointment was great with one of the better massages I've ever had, but the layout of the facilities seemed a bit off. The pool area in the spa was crowded and noisy on the day we were there, but that could have been because it was New Years day.

Aside from my minor critiques above, we found this to be an excellent hotel in arguably the best location in Budapest and would highly recommend this FS to anyone visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the river. I would think the higher floors have better rooms, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your New Year’s Eve spent at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace. I was delighted to read that you were very happy with your second room choice and the magnificent views and location of the Hotel. Thank you for mentioning the staff, whom you found to be friendly and accommodating throughout the Hotel, although, I would like to apologize if one of our staff members did not address you appropriately. Thank you also for your remark regarding the confirmation note not received. It is indeed our aim that our guests receive a written confirmation on all special arrangements made for them by the Hotel. I am truly sorry for the momentary lapse of our service standards. Nevertheless, we accept that we always have room to improve and that we can benefit from our guests’ feedback. Please know that your remarks were taken good note of and will be followed up on immediately.
I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments regarding the massage with our Spa Manager, Zsófia Hellinger.

I hope that you and your wife will keep fond memories of welcoming the Year 2012 at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 6,176 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#5 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing