We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the Roman ages”
Review of Aquincum Museum

Aquincum Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.35*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #112 of 467 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The remains of a former military garrison of the Roman province of Pannonia include a large amphitheater for 1,600 spectators.
Tapolca, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back to the Roman ages”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

It looks pretty from outside, but if you go inside will see just the same... Actually the opposit site of the Aquincum museum is an Roman outdoor theater entrance for free.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivien U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    58
    33
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great site. Loved the ruin garden allot. A must see for all those who love history. There is also a civil amphitheatre nearby.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The best Roman ruin is free”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited the Aquincum Museum today travelling by the HEV 5 train to Aquincum stop (this is still inside the Budapest travel zone so was covered by our 24 hour ticket). As you get off the train there is the civil ampitheatre to look at to your left. It is then about a 10 minute walk back down the road the way you just came on the train to get to the Aquincum Museum.

The remnants of the buildings that have been uncovered are extensive (although only a very small part of the original town). They certainly show how advanced the Romans were in terms of sanitation and running water. The exhibition in the museum building was interesting and a reasonable amount was also in English. Don't expect to find anything much in the cafe though - just strong coffee and some cold drinks.

What we did afterwards was, however, the highlight of this outing. With some help from the ticket seller at the entrance to the museum we were able to find the very much larger military amphitheatre closer to Budapest- think Colluseum because that is how big it was (or even bigger in floor space) - headed back into town. It is marked on the brochure they give you at the museum but without enough information to make finding it easy.

To get there cross the road from the museum and catch the 34 or 134 bus for 2 stops then change to the 86 bus for 4 stops - getting out at Timar Upta. Continue to walk in the direction the bus was travelling for the rest of that block and you will come to an open area surrounded by unit blocks and roads (at the corner of Viador St and Nagyszombat St). Inside it is the remains of the military amphitheatre.

It is so impressive in its size even though it does not have the walls like the Colluseum in Rome.

After you have finished walk back to the bus stop and you can catch the 86 to Batthyany ter or the 109 to Deak Ferenc Ter and beyond.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't let the surrounding area dissuade you”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We took the suburban tram (#5) up to Aquincum and walked to the site on our own. The area seemed much like the side of a highway but we wanted so badly to see the ruins that we kept going; it paid off. The ruin garden was fantastic. Try to find the information signs to guide your walk through. They will tell you what the layout was like and what each space was (kitchen, bath, etc.). My bf and I took so many pictures; we spent many hours here. It was extremely hot so we were glad we brought water, but there was also a small cafe inside the museum. We had been told that the place has lost much of its government support and it showed. I personally didn't mind the abandoned buildings but it gave a sad feeling to the place. I really feel that visitors to Budapest should set aside time to see this piece of history and show their support so that it doesn't become lost to the world once more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jrain10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I have to admit, my gf and I are very much interested in Roman history. I don't think this museum would be interesting to anyone who doesn't like seeing what Budapest looked like in those days.

We really enjoyed a visit to the very modern museum which made me wish I was a kid again. It features some very entertaining games both indoors and outdoors.

The outdoor area features ruins and found artifacts all labeled and translated to Magyar and (thank God) English.

A visit to a reconstructed painter's house is also recommended.

The site also includes 2 chronoscopes where you can view a live digital reconstruction of what the ruins (probably) looked liked in Roman times.

Worth a visit if you want to get out of the super tourist'y areas.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Aquincum Museum also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aquincum Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing