We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday flea market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varosliget

Varosliget
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.54*
and up
Budapest Combo: City Walking Tour and Small-Group Wine Tasting Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located behind Heroes' Square, this park is home to the zoo, an amusement park and a swimming pool.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
1,117 reviews
848 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Sunday flea market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

On Sunday morning we visited the Széchenyi Baths which are also in the park and intended to visit the flea market but were too late as it closed at 2pm but we were not too disappointed as around the "official" flea market,which you have to pay a small sum to visit, people had set up tables and blankets on the ground and we spent some time browsing these. I bought 3 old postcards for HUF 700. (This is something I tend to buy as we travel hand luggage only and they are easy to pack going home) two of the cards had a Christmas theme(another favourite of mine) and were about 60 years old. Now all I need to do is find someone who reads Hungarian to translate them for me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    146
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A lot to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The park itself in the City Park is not that special, but the City Park area has a lot to see.

We came by the Millennium Underground to Heroes' Square, which is a sight itself. Then we went to see the Timewheel (a giant hourglass) near it before entering the City Park. On the way to the Timewheel, there where was a good view over the boating lake of the park to the Vajdahunyad Castle, which looks fascinating. After taking photos of the castle, we entered the actual park area and went to see the castle closer. It houses the Museum of Agriculture, which we were not interested in, so we continued further into the park.

The Budapest Zoo, the amusement park, the circus and the Széchenyi bath (the largest medicinal bath in Europe) are located in the north of the park. We concluded our visit of the park by going the bath. It was a convenient way of combining sightseeing and bathing at one of the classic spas of Budapest.

The area can be seen quite fast, if you don't visit any of the attractions. If you would visit all of them, a day would not be enough, so the time required to visit the park depends heavily on what you want to do there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kuu-kanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ice & Castles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Varosliget is by far one of Hungary's greatest attractions. It is located directly behind Hosok Ter (Heroes Square). Inside the park you will find an Agricultural museum, castle, restaurants, thermal pond, Ice skating rink, Szenchenyi mineral bath house, a small mineral water bar, youth center and acres of green grass and trees. I recommend visiting during the week. On weekends a lot of locals gather and bring their belongs to sell at a flea market and they also bring their load voices and beer. Otherwise this is a beautiful park to visit as well as the attractions within the park.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Gena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Nice park, has a few problems!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Walked from Oktogon up Andrassy Bvl to heroes square and city park beyond. Passed the waterski/ ice skating pond and into park proper.
The GOOD, lovely park with roads and walks making access easy for all. Majestic trees and colourful flower beds make a nice change from the surrounding city. There are good transport links with metro and bus lines. Pleasant water features provide relaxation in a green environment'
The BAD, the policy "pay to pee" just does not work here or elsewhere. City park is a favorite haunt with the homeless and they don't have toilet money. Some park areas smell (stink!) and is nothing more than a dump. We saw areas used for daily markets strewn with rubbish and a dumping ground for car litter. The worst we have seen in Europe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
299 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Skip this park and stroll around district 6 instead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A park for a nap - but not for seeing life unfold.
Skip the park and instead spend an afternoon in district 6 between Andrassy-Nagykürut-Wesseleny, this is an area buzzing with life! Experience the uniquely Budapest invention of szimpla kert ("ruin pubs") - look it up and find these little beer gardens in the midst of ruins of something. Makes better sense also botanically.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varosliget also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Varosliget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing