We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum of Fine Arts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Szepmuveszeti Muzeum - CLOSED

Szepmuveszeti Muzeum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Fine Arts, Budapest houses the most significant European Art collection of the region between Vienna and St. Petersburg. The exhibitions halls delight visitors with an array of splendid compositions by Raphael, El Greco, Velázquez, Rembrandt, Tiepolo, Goya, Manet, Monet, Toulouse-Lautrec, Cézanne and Chagall, among many others. In 2007 the museum joined the ranks of those museums that attract the highest numbers of visitors worldwide.The Museum of Fine Arts was built as part of the celebrations surrounding the 1,000th anniversary of the founding of Hungary and was inaugurated by King and Emperor Franz Joseph on December 1, 1906. The building simultaneously recalls both an antique temple and a Renaissance palace. The Egyptian Art Collection of the museum is one of the richest of its kind in Central Europe. The Classical Antiquities Collection embraces the entire period of antiquity. The Old Masters’ Collection is represented by around three thousand paintings of the most important eras of European painting from the 13th till the end of the 18th century. Visitors can enjoy the famous sculptures of Sansovino, Riemenschneider and Messerschmidt, in the newly renovated rooms of the new permanent collection of the Old Sculptures Collection in 2013. The Prints and Drawings Collection is an inexhaustible treasure trove embracing the history of drawing and reproductive techniques in Europe. Its approximately 10 000 drawings and 100 000 prints can be seen in the course of temporary exhibitions. The Department of Art after 1800 covers the works of world famous artists as well.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Museum of Fine Arts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is located at Hero's Square. I have been to museums all over but I must say that his one is both good and surprising. Their collection incuided many of the great artists but also many items by obviously wonderful artists that I have not seen before or at least not seen much of.
Also, there is an unbelievable number on display. They are ceiling to floor and side by side on all surfaces! We stayed about twice as long as we usually do because we felt like we were on a treasure hunt. Even if you are not a big fan of things like this, I suggest you go for a visit because I think it is not like any art museum elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rivermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    87
    36
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A fantastic Gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Budapest has two main galleries. Up on the hill is the Hungarian National Gallery for all the wonderful Hungarian art. Most of the rest is at The Museum of Fine Art. It has a representation of art from most European countries with a larger section from Holland. There are 2 wonderful sculptures by Rodin and a small bronze by Leonardo. There are 3 beautiful Monets, a Corot, and a Pissarro. A small Constable, a Gainsborough, a Renolds and a Raeburn. Our guide book showed a picture of a beautiful Madonna and child by Picasso which sadly was not on show. There were also many other beautiful paintings by artists less well known to me who I shall now research. It was possible to buy an extra ticket so that one could take photos (no flash or tripod). This is such a very good idea -I wish other major venues would follow suit. There is a free cloakroom where one must leave coats and rucksacks.There is also a good cafe that also does cakes and sandwiches. We spent all afternoon there. It is wonderfully uncrowded

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the Great European museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We are museum "geeks" and have seen most of Europe's great museums; this is right up there with a broad collection (including on of the largest Egyptian ones). The 3000 paintings cover the 13th to 18th centuries of European painting from essentially all countries and almost (no Leonardo) all of the great masters. Their 19th and 20th is not as strong. We spent many happy hours enjoying the great art

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank kangatashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
723 reviews
372 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not a great collection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

It seemed like even the visitor guide was
struggling to find "highlights of the collection" to recommend. They did have a few nice Breugel's, , some entertaining Cranachs, some nice Spanish artists (I guess because of the Hapsburg connections: a couple of beautiful Riberas and Zubarons, plus a bunch of El Greco--he's not one of my favorites), and a small unusual impressionist collection. It didn't help that the rooms were way overheated so we had to keep looping back sweltering and panting to the cental hall to catch some cool air.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“False Advertising”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I bought tickets to view the exhibit titled "The Age of Pieter Bruegel." To our great disappointment there were only two of his drawings on display at the exhibit. Moreover, only one of the two drawings reflected the emphasis of his influence on "landscape" drawings. In short, the PR for the exhibit was a blatant example of a "bait and switch" tactic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szepmuveszeti Muzeum also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing