We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imposing”
Review of Heroes' Square

Heroes' Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.54*
and up
Budapest: 2-Hour City Tour with Hotel Pick-up
Ranked #17 of 452 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A large square constructed in 1896 for the millennium of the Magyar Conquest of Hungary. The square's Millennial Monument is flanked by the Fine Arts Museum and the Mucsarnok Art Gallery.
Cliffe Woods, Kent
Level Contributor
240 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Imposing”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The statues on and buildings adjacent to the square are formidable and well worth seeing as is the spectacular view along the 2.5km Andrassy Avenue. The place seems to express the history of Budapest. Close by is a castle, thermal baths, zoo and open air skating rink. For us it was an ideal place to commence our Big Bus Tour of Budapest

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinG_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,549
    2,967
    1,015
    86
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice sqaure at the end of Andrássy”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This square is surrounded by statues, a museum and a gallery. There is also an ice rink nearby and is a short walk from the Szechenyi thermals baths. It is nice to walk along Andrássy ut and finish up at the square.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Really impressive with statues and columns. Walk through the square to the castle, ice rink, zoo and thermal baths.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SurreyKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“definitely go see and leave yourself lots of time”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I ran out of time here, I think it can take all afternoon if you want to go to most of the museums and take a nice stroll around the area and take pictures enjoy yourself and the quietness, I went during the day, don't know how it's like after sundown but its near the train station so not near the "tourist areas", take the metro, it's fast

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We only headed towards the square as we were on our way to the zoo, but so glad we came across it. All the statues and buildings surrounding it looked very well kept. When we went it was fairly quiet but would imagine at times it gets very busy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jo9937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heroes' Square also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Heroes' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing