We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view of Budapest”

St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.33*
and up
Budapest St Stephen's Basilica Organ Concert with Optional Danube River Dinner...
Ranked #3 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built between 1851 and 1905, this large parish church accommodates 8,500 people and features a magnificent 300-foot, neo-Renaissance dome.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a view of Budapest”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The cathedral is truly a work of art. The main chamber is gilded and awe-inspiring...with the stained glass dome and windows, statuary, fonts and lovely interior overall. Plus, the spectacular view from the top of the Basilica is a panorama worth viewing. If you are not up for the 302 steps, there is an elevator to take you up. Some nice artwork is available along the way (mind your step around the edge under the arches) to the last few steps that remain to the viewing walkway around the dome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SWeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,144
    4,040
    811
    90
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go to the concert”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Went to the evening concert here which was very good. To see it at night gave it a different feel. The outside is beautiful and if you ever get lost in Budapest, look for this building, it is like a beacon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grand and beautiful”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Definitely recommend. For a small donation it's great to have a look around the Basilica. A massive and impressive structure and interior. A group of young americans were singing a the time. Great singing and amazing acoustics, was really nice to hear. Also well worth paying 500 Hungarian to go to the top of the Basilica. Amazing views and a good bit of excersise... ..or there's a lift most of the way.

Helpful?
Thank roald471
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“magnificent cathedral”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went to Mass in this magnificent 20th century church,gleaming with gilt and marble.Lovely music and singing.Worth a trip up to the dome for the incredible view--don't forget to visit the relic chapel to see the Holy Right Hand of St Stephen,the symbol of Hungarian nationality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was one of our best experiences in Budapest. The Basilica itself was beautiful, but the experience was even better. After a few days of experiencing Budapest and the less positive aspects to traveling here, we thought our visit to St Stephen's was representative of our trip to Hungary. Getting our children ready for Mass, getting to the Keleti station in time only to find out that the train was not running that day-we took the city bus which wasn't going to our destination. One of the locals we met on the train got off with us and made sure we made it to church, on time. This person walked about a mile out of his way to make sure we were on the right path, right up to the church itself. I was very unimpressed with the local "help staff" that couldn't care less about tourists, but this random citizen went way above and beyond to help a few tourists. This man's generosity and kindness made us realize how beautiful Budapest could be, and we carried this sentiment into the Basilica. The organized help staff was anything but helpful or organized, but the average person on the street made it wonderful. I thought this was one of the most beautiful churches I've seen in Europe, but my daughters thought the amputated hand of St Steven added extra awesome-ness.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jolleyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing