We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
from $41.30
More Info
from $41.30
More Info
from $36.70
More Info
Budapest Bike Tour
177 Reviews
from $32.10
More Info
Reviews (7,455)
Filter reviews
4,129 results
Traveler rating
2,647
1,110
267
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,647
1,110
267
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini concert beautiful building guided tour royal box la boheme take photos different languages ballet stage auditorium arias tickets production acoustics interval interior intermission
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,129 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

This beautiful building is still being renovated, so the auditorium is inaccessible which is why it doesn't get 5 stars, but don't let that put you off going to see the rest. A lot of effort and love has gone into the renovation. Tours are available in several languages. As compensation for not seeing the auditorium there is a short concert of operatic arias at the end, a great success with our group.

Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As title states you see very little as the auditorium is closed for months. Price should reflect this I think. Nice touch to have some opera sung in lieu of seeing inside but you really do see very little. Shame as we’re unlikely to return. Should give discount to those who do.

Thank Tuckumbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is an excellent building and highly ornamental. It was constructed in 1884. It's auditorium has a capacity of 1300 persons. Regular shows of ballet, concert and opera are conducted. Presently renovation work is going in some portions.

Thank anjanghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful. The interior is stunning and worth the time. We even had singers on the staircase. The tour director was very knowledgeable and had wonderful stories. What a great landmark of Hungary.

Thank JenniferT2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

By the time I reached Budapest, we had visited the major sights in Paris and Amsterdam, so I was getting somewhat tired of guided tours. am I ever glad that we did this one.

It's a sweet 45 minute jaunt through one of the most beautiful buildings I've ever visited.

I've been to the Vatican.

This is an amazing piece of history and should not be missed.

Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The opera house is being renovated, so you can't see the building on the outside and the main concert area is closed to the public, but you still can get a tour of the hallways, the old smoking area, the foyer and the grand stair case. It is a very interesting tour, with lots of interesting stories and it finishes with a wonderful operatic performance on the grand staircase.
The tour is very worthwhile and good value.

Thank MitchMitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've had the pleasure of touring the Opera House as well as attending two ballets there during previous trips to Budapest. At the moment the Opera House is having major renovation works undertaken and it is surrounded by a big shroud.

Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cheap seats to first class classical music, ballet and opera. I bought tickets over the internet, but you could easily buy them at the venue box office, and had a fabulous night at the ballet where the company was in fine form!
Getting there was easy. We took a taxi but caught the tram home.

One thing I would warn you about: the seats at the back of the little boxes are terrible unless you're tall. Buy a front row seat or sit in the circle.

Having said that, do take the tour in the morning, which might be a good time to grab a last -minute seat for a performance. The opera house's history is fascinating and the interior of the building is exquisite. Well worth the ( quite low) price!

1  Thank cwate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sadly not much to see at the moment as it appears to be under renovation. From the write up will be very impressive when reopened.

Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We crossed the Hungarian State Opera House many times while waking in Budapest but there is not much to be seen, the whole place is under massive renovation. Still, you can see that it has a very nice arhictecture so I think it will look quite lovely once the renovation will be completed. I guess its worth a stop if you are in the area but better to check it our after the renovation is complete.

1  Thank Foodie_CST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews