We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the city's gems”

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.10*
and up
Budapest Hammer & Sickle Tour - Communist Times, 56 Revolution, WW I and WW II
More Info
$28.49*
and up
Budapest Highlights and Hidden Gems Tour with a Local
More Info
$17.81*
and up
Film Locations Tour in Budapest With a Local
Ranked #10 of 467 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
700 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“One of the city's gems”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a genuine working opera house, not just a landmark. The archetecture is ownderful inside and out, and it is well worth the tour. However, more importantly, there are constant ongoing operatic performances, and no better place to experience them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,113
    1,874
    411
    83
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful building”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We walked past the Opera House at 15:55 and saw that there was an English tour at 16:00 and so popped in just in time. Our guide was good although I imagine that he spoke too quickly for those whose English was not their first language.
The building was truly magnificent and we intend to come back to Budapest to go to the Opera in the future.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank helhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Did the tour in the afternoon and went to see the opera at night. Very good tour with knowledgeable guide and excellent production of Salome to follow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Budapest pleasure”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The interior of the Opera House is an architectural delight. Touring this amazing structure made me long to see a performance. Two tips that might prevent disappointment and frustration. Ignore the "Ticket Office" sign pointing to the side of the building and just open the front door for the Opera Shop inside, the actual site to purchase tour tickets. When you purchase your tickets, ask for the additional ticket that allows photography (yes, there is another fee). We were not informed about the photography charge until we were already on tour, so weren't allowed to photograph the spectacular venue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HomieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great theatre, excellent performance”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is an impressive looking building from the outside but is even better on the inside. There is masses of gold gilding in the main auditorium, and an impressive painted ceiling.

Our stalls seats were old, wooden, fold down seats, somewhat lacking in padding but surprisingly comfortable. The performance of Salome that we saw was excellent, all performers of a very high standard, creating a great atmosphere.

It is also incredibly cheap, when compared to the often ridiculously priced tickets you pay for in Western Europe, with our two stalls seats being the equivalent to about £20 sterling for both.

A great night out that I would highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing