We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful building and great ballet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Book In Advance
$58.50*
and up
Budapest Hammer & Sickle Tour - Communist Times, 56 Revolution, WW I & II
Ranked #10 of 425 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and great ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We missed the opportunity to do a tour (not enough time), but we did attend the ballet, Snow White and so we were able to enjoy the magnificent interior from the splendour of our very own box at the opera! Highly recommended and yes, when we return to Budapest, as we surely will (it's awesome), we'll do the tour and get the gen on the place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leighbelle-Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,562
    1,596
    346
    76
    35
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful building and some great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been 4 times here when visiting the city in the last 2 years and now when I'm living in BP I just can't wait the season to start! Some really good singers here. The building itself is really beautiful and worth to see even if you're not an opera lover. The spectators are mostly tourists and other random people... but try to go to the highest gallery, where particular singers' fans often are for every performance of their favorites! The atmosphere on this gallery is a smell of what you can feel if you go to the other opera theatre of Budapest, Erkel Theatre, where all people are locals, and... but I'll write that in the respective review. Anyway ig you're in Budapest don't miss the Opera House. I'd reccomend especially the Hungarian national historical opera, Bánk Bán, which is usually played around 15th March, the Hungarian National Holiday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrincipessaTurandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“euro Holiday June 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A visit to this opera house was included as part of our river boat cruise with Uniworld. I am not an opera fan but it was a great way to experience the local culture and entertainment scene

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquatamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely opera house - but the tour was a bit lacking. Too many tours in too many languages at the same time! Difficult to hear at times, and tours were stepping on each other. But - the building is fabulous - helped that I was staying around the corner and could hear the singers practice in the mornings!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rondee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Opera House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I saw a performance of Snow White and the Seven Drwarfs at the Opera House this June. It was a fun ballet. The Opera House was the star of the show though with it's beautiful construction and elegant chandelier and painted ceilings. It's definitely worth seeing while in Budapest. However, if you end up catching a show there, make sure to buy a ticket in the main seating. I had terrible seats in the nose bleed section and could not see very well and the seats were terribly cramped.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing