We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing building”

Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.90*
and up
Budapest Hammer & Sickle Tour - Communist Times, 56 Revolution, WW I & II
Ranked #10 of 443 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This magnificent new-Renaissance style structure, completed in 1884 and modeled after the Vienna Opera House, is home to both the State Opera and the State Ballet.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Amazing building, with great program for operas. Nevertheless the New Year's concert was not at all as expected. To my opinion it should be music to celebrate the New year, and it was not at all like that...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank spyrogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,926
    1,772
    379
    80
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of the places I enjoyed the most. The house itself looks impressing, It was my first opera experience, and we went to see La Boheme. The tickets were cheap as chips, but the show was amazing! Shame that they didn't have more information and leaflets in English, considering that most of the visitors there were foreigners

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekaterina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tour was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Opera House itself is a brilliant building steeped in history with fantastic architecture, however that said, they only run tours twice a day at 3 and 4pm which last for approx 45 mins this results in huge crowds of people of all languages congregating at the same time, although the tours were then split into different languages, there were too many people that if you were at the back of the group often you could not hear what was being said, also I felt that we were being rushed through the tour as they were trying to get so many groups of people to see the same parts of the building which was a shame.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing building, poor opera performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The building in itself is magnificent on the inside. We visited for an opera show, but you can also tour the building with a guide, which I would recommend. The opera (Die Fledermause) was in Hungarian, although it is a German piece. Fortunately there was an English translation projected above the stage. But as the show went on, the translation got more and more poor. During the third act it was more or less absent, which is why we eventually left before the show was over.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marrijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful operahouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We saw the opera La Bohéme, had booked great seats in advance for a very modest price (about 10.000 HUF for 12th row). The interior of the opera house is very impressive!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank where2next2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Allami Operahaz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing