We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inside and out”
Review of Matthias Church

Matthias Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.14*
and up
Buda Castle Explorer with an Entrance Ticket to Matthias Church from Budapest
More Info
$77.89*
and up
Budapest Combo: Buda Castle District Including Fisherman's Bastion with Night...
More Info
$75.00*
and up
3-Hour Small Group History Tour of Buda Castle - A Kingdom of Many Nations
Ranked #6 of 472 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Used over the centuries as a coronation church for the Hungarian kings, the slender and graceful architecture of this beautiful church dominates the main square of the Castle area.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and out”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Construction kept is from seeing some portions, but the church is beautiful. Women do need to cover their shoulders.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jake91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,269
    1,745
    300
    64
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“exquisite church”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I loved the exterior of this imposing church with its tall spires and intricate "lace-like" stonework.The coloured roof- tiles are also amazing. The interior left me speechless - beautiful, intricate paintwork and frescoes with gold leaf all over the walls and ceilings. The stained glass windows are also amazing. One of the most beautiful churches I have visited anywhere in the world.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful even under restoration”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took a quick tour of the church which is under painstaking restoration by highly skilled artists. My favorite part was imagining what it must have been like when the early artists were at work with the master directing so many apprentices toward a beautiful masterpiece. Well worth a quick tour. Be sure to see the unusual round stained glass window at the rear of the church.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemun, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good architecture”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Although I am not religious I always like to see good architecture on church. This one is maybe the most beautiful I have seen by now. Originally it was built in Romanesque style but later Goth elements are added. It stands in front of Fishermans Bastion and belongs to the most beautiful area of BUdapest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good enough from the outside”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This church is beautiful with an amazing roof!! I could have sat all day looking at it. Inside is also very pretty, but I was a little let down, especially as the entrance fee is 1000HUF, a bit too much I think.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Matthias Church also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Matthias Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing