We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria)
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria)
from $11.47
More Info
from $59.65
More Info
from $228.84
More Info
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
534
436
153
29
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
534
436
153
29
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hungarian art modern art buda castle permanent collection beautiful paintings frida kahlo alter pieces works of art excellent collection different periods budapest card royal palace on display couple of hours two hours audio guide impressive building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

The museum closes at 6 pm, but guards start harassing you at 5:15 and kick you out by force at 5:45. Avoid this museum.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank ferenc_gerlits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Very varied collection, well curated but directions not always clear. Cold, wet weather meant we wanted a coffee but there was no café. Not overcrowded and a very positive experience.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNG-BP, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Visitor, thank you and since the renovation of the cafe is on its way, we would like to see you back! The cafe opens this weekend for the Night of the Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

I admit I’m not an expert of Hungarian artists, but I didn’t like this museum at all. Bad overall organization. There are no indication of the room you are visiting, so it’s easy to get lost (also, staff overseeing the museum rooms cannot speak English and are not of help). In general, only very few works of art captured my attention. One last negative note is that bathrooms are dirty!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank giordimarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNG-BP, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read that you had a bad experience in our museum. The Hungarian National Gallery used to be the Royal Palace, therefore the space is not entirely suitable for a museum. We provide maps at the entrance in 7 languages for better orientation. For all the other concerns, we are working on those problems, including cleanliness and knowledge of foreign languages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

If you are an art lover and visiting Budapest, just don’t miss this wonderfull place. You can spend hours and hours enjoying Hungarian artists painting and sculptures.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank danielagogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

A very nice building located in the castle hill of Buda.

Nice collection and very interesting artists.

The only bad thing is that like the most of the museums in town , the English translation is very pure and not informative. You need to pay a headset in order to enjoy the exhibition, and I think that this is odd.

I recommend it!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Konstantinos_vsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews