We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little different”

Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria)
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.74*
and up
Budapest Card
More Info
$38.30*
and up
Budapest City Tour with Castle Hill Funicular and Boat Ride
Ranked #41 of 471 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum houses an extensive collection of Hungarian works dating from the 10th century to present day, including the sculpture of King Béla III's head (1200 A.D.) and lavish 15th- and 16th-century winged altarpieces.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

As promised in our guidebook, this museum in unique in that it is limited to Hungarian artists--so you will see things that are unfamiliar. The Gothic alter pieces and panels were, for me, a highlight of our entire 3-city trip. Now, I do kind of like Gothic painting, which isn't something that would excite everyone, but the guidebook did suggest these were "weird and wonderful" without describing why. They were truly weird and wonderful--because of the faces. All this religious art, but instead of being filled with bland or pious faces, there are all sorts of funny expressions, fat faces, Mary grieving over a crucified Christ with the biggest frown you've ever seen painted, all sorts of wonderful images. Many made me laugh aloud. I wished I'd paid the photo fee and taken pictures. I should have gone back and done so. We also enjoyed many of the Impressionist through modern works.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VtTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    320
    118
    22
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good tour of Hungarian art”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

A nice museum however a lot of the floors and exhibits were closed. That said it's still certainly worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duke88190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fine gallery with excellent guest exhibitions”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Hungarian National Gallery occupies restored buildings which formed part of the Royal Palace in Buda Castle. It is a short walk from the Fisherman's Bastion and the Matthiaskirche on Castle Hill. There is a an excellent permanent collection of paintings and sculpture, and regular guest and loan exhibitions. The staff helpful, at reception, in the well stocked museum shop and in the cafeteria. The building itself is magnificent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hywel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Make sure you see the temporary impressionist exhibit!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We were walking by when we noticed a banner advertising this temporary exhibit. I love impressionist paintings and this promised many rarely seen paintings hung beside Hungarian impressionist painters. All I can say is wow. Make sure you go even if you don't have time for the entire museum. It was pricey...about 3200 florist ($14.50+) but well worth it. Sisley, Pisarro, Dega, Van Gogh, Gauguin, next to beautiful Hungarian impressionists.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank patilajolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Not To Be Missed!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The National Gallery is a must if you're visiting Budapest. There are 4 floors of treasues tracing Hungary's art history. Leave plenty of time to take your time to savor these magnificent works of art. You could do it comfortable in 2-3 hours but if you linger you'll need more than 3. I especially enjoyed the late 19th and 20th century art. There is a vast collection of Hungary's principal artists, not so well known on our side of the pond and unfortunately so. I started at thwe top floor and made my way down to the medieval and ancient periods. A day here will enhance anyone's appreciation for Hungary's long and rich culture and will enrich one's further exploration of this glorious city and country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria) also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing