We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful experience”

Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria)
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.63*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #44 of 455 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum houses an extensive collection of Hungarian works dating from the 10th century to present day, including the sculpture of King Béla III's head (1200 A.D.) and lavish 15th- and 16th-century winged altarpieces.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We knew nothing at all about Hungarian art but quickly became fans. The collection is huge and wonderful. We opted for tickets for the permanent collection with an extra ticket which allowed us to take photos (no flash and no tripod allowed) Coats and rucksacks had to be left in the free cloakroom. We wandered aound the quiet large rooms becoming more and more captivated and happily capturing the best on camera. Having decided that Munkasy was our favourite artist we discovered that there was a separate exhibiton of mostly his work. So we had an excellent lunch at the cafe just outside of goulash souo and srtrudel and then came back in to see that -a very good decision as it was amazing. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. This gallery is a 'must do' for the art lovers of the world

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    307
    115
    21
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
173 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“For the curious”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good to have it in the Buda castle. The location helps. Not many masterpieces by artists that we know. But if you are open-minded to learn about the history and the arts from that part of the world (Hungary, Slovakia, Romania), you will be well-served. The staff is rude -you have to get used to that in Hungary- but being treated as a prisoner in a museum is a special feeling. Anyway Budapest is so nice, you finish up laughing about that aspect...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Eye-opening.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Whilst in Budapest, I visited this national gallery in Buda Castle after having been to the Fine Arts Museum in Heroes Square. To be honest, I assumed a national gallery would not be as strong as a body of work as there would be very few Hungarian artists I would be familiar with. Whilst this was true, to my mind the quality of much of the work left the Fine Arts Museum in the shade. I think this is partly because, whilst there are the bigger names in the Fine Arts Museum - Duccio, Breughel, Poussin, Gauguin, Corot, Monet - they're not necessarily their best or most recognisabe works. At the National Gallery, there were not these preconceptions so the work stood on its own merit. Especially for me, some of the Baroque and early modernism paintings and fine early Renaissance wood-carvings.
Look out for works by Pal Szinyei Merse, Karoly Ferenczy and numerous other names you won't know!
Unfortunately, their shop has closed. I understand there are plans to merge these two museums together. I'm not sure that would be a good idea as some of these outstanding works will inevitably lose out to the big hitters.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank msteenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent gallery”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

An excellent gallery with paintings by a lot of famous artists in a nice setting beside a large park. There were also interesting temporary exhibitions when I visited. A nice peaceful place to escape the city.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clivedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very poor art collection”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nothing in common wit other painitng and sculpture museums. Only local artists and not many masterpieces.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzalo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria) also viewed

 

Been to Hungarian National Gallery (Magyar Nemzeti Galeria)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing