We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, not great”

Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.05*
and up
Budapest Castle District Walking Tour Including Fisherman's Bastion
Ranked #121 of 438 things to do in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a former municipal army barracks, this museum traces the history of war in Hungary through an extensive collection of war memorabilia, ranging from weapons and uniforms to coins and flags.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Im military history fan and I must say, that its not great military museum.
- staff is not much friendly...being watched at every step of three floors is annoying...and being warned by elderly lady that I should go to put my jacket two floors down to clothes room or put it on myself (after two hours its simply hot there!) is not professional way to treat tourists.
- most of collection is connected to Great War and WWII. I missed wider variety of medieval warfare.
- most of tabs and info is in hungarian only...ant that simply BAD decision... Only english is on tabs talking about wider history of Hungary...but I know that, I want to know what Im looking at.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrik_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    27
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Super”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The castle of buda is good location with beuty wiews,and the museum is evrything is ok.

Helpful?
Thank csakaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff, bizarre alarms make this museum its own exhibit”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I'm a big fan of military history, as were the people I was with. So it was a no-brainer to visit this museum. Unfortunately the place is nothing like other proper military museums.

FIrst of all, it's badly organized. You have no idea where to start (go left? go right?) unless a grumpy porter in the foyer sets you right. Once you do enter the exhibits, a great deal of the text is in Hungarian only. In fact, I'm willing to bet the museum is less for tourists than for military cadets -- we saw a group being taken through and they were the only other visitors when we were there.

Some of the exhibits are interesting. I particularly liked being able to lift some of the guns issued to WWII soldiers in my hands. But the whole place is very inhospitable, not just because of the language issue but also due to some of the most unpleasant, scowling staff I've ever encountered. Little old ladies, looking like transplants from Soviet Russia, follow you around and if you put one foot wrong, shriek at you loudly. (Make sure you're prominently wearing a "photo ticket" that permits you to take photos. Otherwise, it's in the brig with you!)

One otherwise ordinary exhibit has a piercing, window-shattering proximity alarm attached to it, which is so easy to set off I doubt you won't hear it if you go LOL.

I'm sympathetic to the mission of this museum, and there are some interesting things to see (I loved the artillery shell casings that had been repurposed by artistically inclined soldiers into works of art like flowers.)

But if your day is pressed for time, give this bizarre place a pass.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Inquizz8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“For history buffs”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Shame - This museum has a lot to offer but sadly with no plan and no general information nor a chance of a tour looses out. It has a ton of aritifacts and plenty of the displays in interesting sets. If you are a history buff you will enjoy this. A museum with lots more potential than offered.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TessaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Only if you don't have anything else to do”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I expected a lot more.
It looks like a big display of weapons, uniforms and.....no more.
Most of the signs are in Hungarian, which makes almost impossible to read or to understand.
They don't give you a map with a suggested path and it looks not really well organized.
You can actually hold some weapons, which is unusual in these museums, this is an interesting thing.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rutilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing