We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Budapest
Save
  
Ways to Experience Varhegy
from $16.55
More Info
from $25.38
More Info
from $35.75
More Info
from $11.03
More Info
Reviews (10,641)
Filter reviews
10,641 results
Traveler rating
6,656
3,349
553
55
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,656
3,349
553
55
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle hill fisherman's bastion national gallery matthias church funicular railway chain bridge cable car royal palace buda side beautiful area walk up the river walk around nice walk hop on hop off bus visiting budapest guard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 10,641 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2020

So we decided against the queue for the Funicular and walked up the hill. Walking up all in all took around 15-20 minutes with some brilliant places to stop and admire along the way.

The paths are well maintained and give access to the castle, Buda town , fishermans bastion etc.

The walk itself may seem daunting but is perfectly achievable for an abled body person or anyone with a will do attitude.

Get Hiking!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank tomj932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Castle Hill is part of a triumvirate since geographically connected to Rózsadomb and Buda Hills, which is a bit confusing for me since Castle Hill also a member of the Buda Hills. Since I amn’t a geography scientist I leave this problem to others.
On the top of the hill, that isn’t too high, probably less than 200 ms, is a 1 km long limestone plateau. On this plateau are the Buda Castle and the Castle District with some of the oldest buildings in Budapest. It isn’t questionable, that is the most beautiful and interesting part of Budapest.
Switchback streets leading between beautiful old medieval houses, stunning churches, breathtaking views, museums, first-class restaurants (their prices are better not to mention), elegant hotels, shady walkways surrounded by old trees, statues, fountains, should I have to continue it? Castle Hill is the place where you can find nearly everything.
Because the hill isn’t high, there are several ways to get there. With average fitness the best way to walk, but if you’re looking or a more comfortable way, from Széll Kálmán, square the No 100 bus will take you there, or from Clark Adam square the funicular. To double the fun visit the Castle Garden first, and from there you can walk up using two different staircases adoring the view on the way, or use the escalator. My favorites are the stairs, and there are plenty. All of them a bit different from the other ones. Usually, I walk up on Ilona stairs, but the Hunyadi is also very handy, especially if you’re coming down. At the end of the stairs, you can direct yourself to Batthyány square, where you can find Metro, HÉV, trams, and buses. The choice is yours. If you’re a visitor in Budapest, Castle Hill is a must.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank stinkwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

This is the heart of medieval Budapest. Here is Buda Castle and the fishing bastion, as well as the church of St. Matias. There are also many preserved houses from the Middle Ages. From here there is a very good view of the whole city and in the evening it is very well lit.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Ogi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

Its huge, long, located on the hill in central Budapest. It contains the castle complex, town, walls and palaces. Takes hours or more than one day to walk rhrough properly.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank marianb813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful area to have a wander and see all the amazing buildings and church. You are high enough up to get great views of the Danube and across the city. Visiting late afternoon as the sun starts setting gives great colour to the sky and taking a photo through one of the ‘windows’ in the Fisherman’s Bastion is a lovely frame.
We spent an evening and a late afternoon here. The 16 bus got us here but we always found on the two occasions we tried to come back on it that it stopped we’ll back from even crossing the Danube and ceased service.
Definitely spend some time having a wander. We popped in to the small Houdini museum who do a 30 minute magic show at the end. Tickets reasonable and maybe an hour max visit.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank DaisyChain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews