We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor hotel”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #160 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 22, 2012

my husband and i paid several hundred pounds for a three night half board stay here and i have to say that i expected a gorgeous room from the photographs diplayed on their site. i was put in a twin room instead of a double that i paid for! the room was in the older part of the hotel which was dilapidated! no shower just a shower head attatche to the taps with no riser rail. very poor choice of food for evening meal. they didnt cater for vegetarians. the staff were nice though. the bathroom wasnt clean at all!

Room Tip: dont choose the older part of the hotel especially room 309!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Benczur Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 492 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel for the first time staying Budapest very good value. Some English spoken by staff. Walking distance to Hero's Square. Very quite neighborhood but close to downtown as well. Just a reminder if it is hot make sure you let the front desk know to turn on the air conditioning. We didn't know so the first night was toasty. From canada so didn't know about that.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 day stay. The breakfast was very good and the outdoor dining area of the restaurant was most pleasant and the food was good and well served.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A large international hotel, with excellent wifi in the large communial areas downstairs. It is located nr the Bajza metro station on line 1. Hero's square is nearby. Aircon in the rooms, if you can find the switch! Very impressive breakfast, with international selction.

Room Tip: choose a gigh room for the views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tina62a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Benczur Hotel was just as advertized. It is a decent and clean hotel in a quiet neighborhood. I knew nothing of Budapest before I booked the hotel, and I would have preferred something more centrally located. That being said, it was easy enough to walk to the metro and ride 10 min to the downtown area. For the price, I think they provide a very nice stay and I would recommend it to someone trying to balance price vs convenience. However, if location is more important to you, spend a bit more and you'll be able to walk more places.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I must admit i was wary when i booked this, single room, eastern europe, i was worried at what i might get (hopefully an en-suite bathroom!!).....more fool me for such ignorance!!
I needn't have worried, the hotel was excellent value for money. It appeared to cater for a number of business clients with a mixture of requirements, single rooms without supplements being one.
The hotel is split into 2 parts, a newer redeveloped wing which i must say was decorated to a better standard (and if i returned again with my partner i would look to book in this side) & the the older wing which is where i stopped.
My room was clean, spacious & had a more than adequate en-suite.
The rooms were cleaned daily & the towels changed daily as well.
I ate in the hotel restaurant & although it was a little more expensive than what was available out in the town i must say the 2 meals i had there were of a very good standard (hence me eating there twice) and well worth the money.
I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment, i can however recommend the supermarket CBA located a block or so down on Andrassy Utca which provided a fantastic pastry, banana, orange & bottle of water for aprox 450HUF per day (about £1.50).
The location was at the top of leafy Andrassy Utca & the neighborhood was a joy to walk round, very safe (even at 2am in the morning). The hotel is located close to the metro line which made getting about easy.
If i had to moan about one thing it was regarding my wine order at the restaurant. The menu stated the price was 450HUF per 'dl' which i assumed was a glass (small). I ordered a glass of the wine & must say i thoroughly enjoyed it. The bill came & i had been charged for 2 x 'dl'......when i queried the fact i had only had one glass i was told there were 2 x 'dl' to a glass!! I am not sure if this was a bit of a tourist rip off but i felt a little conned!
If there is 2 x 'dl' to a glass then why not price the wine at 900HUF for a glass, least i know where i stand then....i mean come on who uses decilitres nowadays???
Anyway minor gripe, i would highly recommend the hotel & if (when) i come back to Budapest i will consider stopping here again....hopefully they have brought there wine menu into the 21st century & price by the glass then!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nho02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at the Benczur just for one night when we first arived in Budapest. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. We had booked a twin room which was what we got but the beds were arranged foot to foot against the wall! It looked a bit odd but both beds were comfortable and the room was clean with nice fluffy towels and a good shower.
We had great views from the window of the Pest side of the city and were within walking distance of Heroes Square and the wonderful park. The Art Galleries were nearby too but are unfortunately closed on Mondays which was when we were there.
We were able to leave our luggage in a secure store while we explored on Monday and then had lovely coffee and cakes in the hotel before moving on to our hotel on the Buda side of the Danube.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaGHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#100 of 332 in Budapest
376 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#106 of 332 in Budapest
749 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 332 in Budapest
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#210 of 332 in Budapest
663 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 332 in Budapest
622 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 332 in Budapest
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $48 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing