We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fast wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #162 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, fast wifi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

A large international hotel, with excellent wifi in the large communial areas downstairs. It is located nr the Bajza metro station on line 1. Hero's square is nearby. Aircon in the rooms, if you can find the switch! Very impressive breakfast, with international selction.

Room Tip: choose a gigh room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tina62a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    173
    125
    45
    34
See reviews for
72
131
51
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Benczur Hotel was just as advertized. It is a decent and clean hotel in a quiet neighborhood. I knew nothing of Budapest before I booked the hotel, and I would have preferred something more centrally located. That being said, it was easy enough to walk to the metro and ride 10 min to the downtown area. For the price, I think they provide a very nice stay and I would recommend it to someone trying to balance price vs convenience. However, if location is more important to you, spend a bit more and you'll be able to walk more places.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I must admit i was wary when i booked this, single room, eastern europe, i was worried at what i might get (hopefully an en-suite bathroom!!).....more fool me for such ignorance!!
I needn't have worried, the hotel was excellent value for money. It appeared to cater for a number of business clients with a mixture of requirements, single rooms without supplements being one.
The hotel is split into 2 parts, a newer redeveloped wing which i must say was decorated to a better standard (and if i returned again with my partner i would look to book in this side) & the the older wing which is where i stopped.
My room was clean, spacious & had a more than adequate en-suite.
The rooms were cleaned daily & the towels changed daily as well.
I ate in the hotel restaurant & although it was a little more expensive than what was available out in the town i must say the 2 meals i had there were of a very good standard (hence me eating there twice) and well worth the money.
I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment, i can however recommend the supermarket CBA located a block or so down on Andrassy Utca which provided a fantastic pastry, banana, orange & bottle of water for aprox 450HUF per day (about £1.50).
The location was at the top of leafy Andrassy Utca & the neighborhood was a joy to walk round, very safe (even at 2am in the morning). The hotel is located close to the metro line which made getting about easy.
If i had to moan about one thing it was regarding my wine order at the restaurant. The menu stated the price was 450HUF per 'dl' which i assumed was a glass (small). I ordered a glass of the wine & must say i thoroughly enjoyed it. The bill came & i had been charged for 2 x 'dl'......when i queried the fact i had only had one glass i was told there were 2 x 'dl' to a glass!! I am not sure if this was a bit of a tourist rip off but i felt a little conned!
If there is 2 x 'dl' to a glass then why not price the wine at 900HUF for a glass, least i know where i stand then....i mean come on who uses decilitres nowadays???
Anyway minor gripe, i would highly recommend the hotel & if (when) i come back to Budapest i will consider stopping here again....hopefully they have brought there wine menu into the 21st century & price by the glass then!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nho02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at the Benczur just for one night when we first arived in Budapest. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. We had booked a twin room which was what we got but the beds were arranged foot to foot against the wall! It looked a bit odd but both beds were comfortable and the room was clean with nice fluffy towels and a good shower.
We had great views from the window of the Pest side of the city and were within walking distance of Heroes Square and the wonderful park. The Art Galleries were nearby too but are unfortunately closed on Mondays which was when we were there.
We were able to leave our luggage in a secure store while we explored on Monday and then had lovely coffee and cakes in the hotel before moving on to our hotel on the Buda side of the Danube.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaGHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed in the Benczur with my 7 year old daughter. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and very good with my little girl, who is at the age when she likes to do things on her own, they kept a respectful eye on her for me.

The location at Hero square could not be bettered if you are staying with children, being within walking distance of the grand circus, theme park, zoo, thermal spa, museums and national park. The hotel is also about 4 minutes from the Hero square Metro, so you can be in central Budapest within minutes, without the noise and bustle of being based there.

The breakfast is self service and has a wide variety of hot and cold offerings with a distintly Hungarian/German feel, meats, eggs, cheese etc. The in-hotel restaurant offers a variety of traditional Hungarian meals and is good food at an acceptable price.

The superior rooms are clean, spacious and tidy and overall i would rate this hotel as good value for money. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
249 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My experience of this hotel could not have been more different from some of the reviewers. The staff are efficient and polite; the rooms are large, well equipped and clean, the shower was great and the restaurant provided good food. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. I have never found a better value hotel anywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Benczur Hotel is very well located in Budapest, off Andressy Avenue, on the yellow subway line. The Hotel staff are helpful, but customer care can be lacking - this is a cultural issue in Hungary though, where customers have to make do with what's available rather than what they want. The hotel advertise wi-fi but be aware that this is not available in the rooms, but just from the reception and bar area near the lobby. There are two grocery stores nearby, but you will have to go downtown for restaurants and bars in the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#129 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#212 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#119 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#118 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Property: Benczur Hotel
Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing