We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- basic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #103 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location- basic rooms”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

location is awesome, but not a direct view of the river. rooms are basic for the cost, better rooms available at similar cost in budapest. Food is okay, staff is okay. Just outside the hotel are several pimps always bothering you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himanshumangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear himanshumangal,
We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. It is our pleasure that you were satisfied with the food and staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    1,055
    482
    154
    63
See reviews for
332
1,055
107
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and me were on leisure trip to Budapest and we were welcomed with all the much required homely feel by Mercure Budapest. Mercure Budapest is one of the best property owned by the ACCOR group of hotels. The hotel is located in the heart of the city. The property is right in the middle of city market area and the access to all the shops and tourist location is easy. The staff is very welcoming. The staff helps every customer to the max. The rooms are decently spacious. One might find the rooms small only if you plan to play a game of soccer or cricket inside the room. The room that we were put in didnt had a great view, but that was not a problem since we had plans to move about in the city and not to stay inside.The room is equipped with all the necessary amneties. The best part of the stay is the breakfast spread. We both really enjoyed the variety of breakfast items that were offered. I would strongly recommend Mercure Budapest City Centre to all the travellers who plan to stay in Budapest. Overall a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a window facing the main lane, if you want to enjoy the live atmosphere of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Tejas W,
We are happy to hear that we are your favourite in Budapest. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the very central location in the heart of the city and about the hotel overall. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. We have already shared your comment with the members of our team. It is also our pleasure that you found our breakfast excellent including the Hungarian specialities and wide range of healthy food. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure Budapest City Center in a standard room for three nights during a long weekend holiday.
What we liked:
- Fantastic location on the Vaci Utca; great for sightseeing and just a short walk to the Danube
- The room wasn’t huge, but the price was right, and it was clean and comfortable. Furniture include the beds
- Breakfast was included in our room rate, and a good spread of hot and cold dishes was available in the buffet
- The staff were helpful and friendly
Things that weren’t as great:
- The bathroom was on the small side
- There was not a bedside table or other space for placing items (drinks, glasses, etc) on the left side of the bed, which was a bit inconvenient and meant we had to put things like drinks on the floor when we were watching tv at night
Overall
We had an enjoyable time at the hotel. The location was ideal for our needs, and the accommodation was comfortable. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear T_R_Grant,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your stay. We are very glad to read positive remarks concerning the location and the facilities of the hotel. We will certainly forward your nice words to our colleagues. It is also our pleasure that you found our special breakfast remarkable and unique. We are all delighted that our hotel met your expectations and you had a great time with us. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing