We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #103 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for the money”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is good, not good like other hotels next to Dune, but very good. Rooms are rather clean, location is good, and value for the money is excellent. There is not other hotels in such location for this money. It might be nice hotel for young couple to say, but not sure about business or family travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utamirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear utamirk,
Thank you for your remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services. It's a special pleasure for us that you found our hotel to be good value for money. We really do hope to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    1,053
    481
    153
    63
See reviews for
330
1,054
107
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located centrally in Budapest and is in a good position for exploring the city. Overall the hotel was comfortable and reasonably priced, apart from the price of drinks in the bar which we found quite eye-watering. There are a number of fairly OK restaurants in the vicinity although Hungarian cuisine is quite basic, mainly meat and potatoes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear travelhoundDorset,
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest City Center during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our hotel and services. We really do hope to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straumen Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is located in the pedestrian area of Budapest. It is possible to walk to many interesting places ( the Parliament, the great Synagogue, The big market hall, Vigado ter etc.)The staff is very polite and helpful. They speak English very well. If you need a taxi, it is there in a couple of minutes. The rooms have aircondition and a minibar/fridge. No noise even in the middle of the city. We slept very well. It was fantastic to wake up hearing the birds singing.And the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Astrid K,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent visit in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location, room and breakfast. It is always good to hear that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. We have already shared your comment with the members of our team. Thank you again. We hope to welcoming you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is nice hotel, very conveniently located in Vaci Street, which is the main street in Budapest. Lots of nice restaurants and bars right around the corner. Rooms are big enough, with all necessary facilities. Nice varied breakfast. Very helpful staff. One disadvantage: if you have a room at the back of the hotel, the view is awful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on Vaci Street, as at the back of the hotel, the view is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shtaain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Shtaain,
Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with the room, the breakfast and especially with our staff. My team would love to serve you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Mercure City Center in Budapest for 4 nights last week. We were 30 people together and everyone was satisfied to the top. Clean and friendly hotel with a nice breakfast buffe. The location couldn´t be better. I love Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1971Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear 1971Mary,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is our pleasure also that we succeeded to exceed your expectations in terms of service. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Right on Vaci Utca, the location doesn't get much more convenient. Hotel could arrange for local sightseeing. Could provide very nice restaurant recommendations and accurate directions on local maps (when we wanted to walk to some places). No complaints at all. However, there will be other (likely more expensive hotels) that will provide more creature comforts and luxury. We were on a family trip and this one suited us just fine. Definite value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank indrablr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear indrablr,
We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant, casinos and many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot from the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Budapest – to the city of senses.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on the main walleyes of the city, it's. Close to the main subway station and from there to the whole city. the stuff is professional and helpful. The breakfast is much above the average and kept us all day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank olala100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear olala100,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. It is our pleasure that you found our breakfast unique as we belive that the excellent start of the day is the beginnig of having a nice stay wih us. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our every day effort. We really look forward to welcome you again soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#78 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing