We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend Bio-Privilege”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #102 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommend Bio-Privilege”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent 3 nights(2 full days) in Budapest. This hotel is located in Vaci street and very ideal location to shopping, traveling, etc.
Especially, I recommend bio-privilege package. It was included breakfast, allergenic linen, air-purifier. It is very good to someone who travel with young children like me.
You can use privilege lounge from 10am to 9pm and if you go there between 5pm to 7pm, you can take small dishes and drinks (Hungarian sparkling wine was very nice).
In the breakfast, if you use privilege room, you can order additional hot meal like omelet, fried eggs, ham and egg, etc.
Also, if you have to check out before breakfast time, ask to reception to prepare breakfast box.
The only minor is un-kindness of breakfast restaurant's woman staff.
Anyway, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptchejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear ptchejo,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed the Privilege service provided in the Privilege Lounge as an additional service to your Privilege Room: all day coffee and tea treatment, happy hours from 5-7pm with snacks and drink, the undisturbed elegant area, free computer and printer usage, etc. We do hope during your next stay you will choose our hotel with the upgraded features.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    1,042
    469
    149
    62
See reviews for
325
1,036
107
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are looking for a perfect location in Vaci Utca area of Budapest, This is THE PLACE. C&A next door, H&M,Zara,Pull&Bear..... all within 100meters, Nothing could be possibly n=beat the location of this hotel in the Pedesterian Steet!!!!

Breakfast- Well we stayed for 5 nights and it was the same menu repeated every day!! Definitely could improve and one reason for not getting Excellent rating!!!!

LIFTS:- This was where the biggest problems were! Needs a lot of improvement as two of the lifts were not working which resulted in either waiting for a very long time for the lifts or even having to walk down 4 floors (4th floor was where I stayed). Tiring and definitely needs improvement!!!

Overall atmosphere and rooms and the location make it a fantastic place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RajaG1,
We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant, many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot from the hotel, situated in the shopping walking Váci street. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel in a PERFECT location. My only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but we drove there and GPS takes you through a tunnel where GPS loses reception. The signs for parking are poorly marked and street parking in Budapest is tricky if not impossible, but again, this is no reflection on the hotel itself. Great bar and restaurant. The BEST breakfast buffet I have seen in Europe thus far and well worth the 15 Euros or so - I believe there's a discount if you prepay for breakfast but unfortunately we did not take advantage of this, but it was still worth it. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating with someone fluent in English always nearby the front desk. I can't emphasize enough how great the location is. Step outside the front door and you are right there in the heart of tourist shopping paradise! It is surrounded by 4 and 5 star hotels costing 3-5 times as much, but for travel to Budapest on a budget, this Mercure cannot be beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGEinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear AGEinPrague,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. They are appreciated and our team was delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Mercure Budapest City Center. It's a special pleasure for us that you found the breakfast as the best and the staff extremly friendly.
Due to that our hotel is the only 4-star hotel in Budapest being surrounded by walking street from all sides means bit a complicated parking. Our parking place is reachable from the street behind the hotel: Parking GPS address: Budapest Petőfi Sándor utca 14., Parking GPS coordinates: N47.49461 E19.05372. The datas are available on our website as well. We really look forward to welcoming you again.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Centrally located on a pedestrian street, lots of stores and restaurants nearby. We killed three small roaches in the bathroom. Room was comfortable but too small. Breakfast buffet was excellent and front desk personnel was helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touron57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Touron57,
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and you have found our staff heplful. I will let them know about your comment. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were at this hotel for 2 nights before we started a cruise on the Danube. The location was ideal as we walked to the cruise ship. We could easily walk to all the major attractions, shopping and restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even though we spoke no Hungarian. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear april264,
Many thanks for writing a review on your stay at Mercure Budapest City Center. We were very delighted that you found our staff extremly friendly and helpful. We are also happy that you would recommend us and looking forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Irecently visited this hotel with my sisters,we were in Budapest trying to find family we had never met,and might I add we found them.We had a suite as there were 3 of us,the hotel was in the very centre of budapest it was amazing,although we spoke very little hungarian the staff understood and were very helpful.The suite we had was very spacious we had 2 bathrooms,3 showers and a bath,there was also a sauna in the suite in which we drank champagne to celebrate finding an aunt we had never met.We sayed at the hotel for 4 days.
Although we didnt eat at the hotel the menus looked amazing
Budapest was a wonderful city,clean and friendly,the local people loved it if ,we spoke hungarian to them as did the hotel staff.The best weekend ever.I would definately stay at this hotel again,in fact I cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: family suite,very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear julia j,
Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with the room and especially with our staff. My team would love to serve you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year. The location cannot be beaten and now that it has gone non-smoking raises it higher in our estimation. The value could not be beaten and the staff is excellent. I am sure that we shall find ourselves back in Budapest in the not too distant future and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chief1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear chief1260,
Thank you so much for choosing twice Mercure Budapest City Center during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments and loyalty. Your valuable words are a real recognition of our every day effort. We really look forward to welcome you again soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing