We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #105 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location in Budapest”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Not a fency hotel, but located in the best place in Budapest - in the heart of Vaci Utca. Friendly staff, reasonable rate, all speak English and willing to assist with any request you might have.
If you need a clean room, reasonable price, best location - seems that you've found a very good match !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beutifullhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Beutifullhotel,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Mercure Budapest City Center and look forward to welcoming you back again.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    1,084
    499
    163
    73
See reviews for
349
1,089
109
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am a big fan of Mercure and have stayed with them at a number of their properties. This one takes it to the lowest level. Landed last night and was dropped by the taxi at the basement level where cars are allowed. The lift was not working as a result had to get my luggage up the stairs to the reception level.

Whilst checking in submitted my Accord Card for points and was told that due to the rate being offered points would not be appliacble. There was nothing in the booking confirmation mentioning this

I requested for a double bed but was provided with two singles. No apology but just a shrug of the shoulders by the check in staff communicating a take it or leave it attitude

There was no tea of coffee facility in the room. When asked I was told I could hire a kettle for 5 Euros/day.

In the night I called reception and asked for an extra pillow. I was told that housekeeping was closed and would only get a pillow the next day when they reopened.

This morning I went to the bar and asked for a glass of luke warm water to gargle. I was told the charge for a glass of water was 500 Ft.

Today both the lifts are not working and one has to climb the stairs to get to the room. Pity the residents who are checking out who are struggling to carry their luggage down the stairs

Dismal service and terrible attitude of the staff. The location is great but that is about it. I would rather stay at another property than get the arrogance from the staff at this hotel

Never again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjitnarulaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ranjitnarulaLondon,
We are sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and we are currently investigating the matter. We do hope to have a chance to better serve you in the future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fantastic location right in the centre of Pest. The room was edging on the small the side but the hotel was clean and the service good. All in all I would rate it as average but due to its excellent location I would still recommend it to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Flyingscotsmen,
I would like to thank you for your comments following your stay in Mercure City Center. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and to know that you would recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Firsf of all, it was my third stay. From my point of view this hotel has the best location in Budapest downtown. In the middle of Vaci utca... My Budapest business partners have thier office in the same street so it is the most conveniet for me to stay there and reach their office with a nice 2 minutes walk. No Rooms are small but good enough if you are not spending all day there. There is a very nice Italian restaurant on the ground floor called Cuccina. If you are not really into Italian kitchen this area offers tons of amazing restaurants. Staff of the hotel is helpful and attentive, they can advice you on all information necessary for any touristic/location info of Budapest. For me this is a price friendly and perfect hotel for a short business trip in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomtomcat1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear tomtomcat1970,
Thank you for your positive review of your recent visit. We are proud that you always enjoy the location of the hotel and the attentive staff. it is good the hear that our returnig guests are satisfied with us and looking worward to welcoming you again on your next business trip.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was in Budapest for a concert and booked the Mercure as I'd stayed at other Mercure hotels and was familiar with the brand. This hotel was the best by far, its in a great location, you can get everywhere from here quickly, the staff were very freindly and compitent, the hotel itself looks great, its very clean, modern and stylish. The room was very comfortable with great facilitties and again was very clean, a great bathroom, everything was tip top!
Unfortunately we could only stay the one night, but on my next trip to Budapest, I will definately be staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David031065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear David031065,
Thank you for your review of your short visit. We were happy that you shared your positive comments. It was good to read that you were satisfied with the room and you found our colleagues friendly. Specially thanks to stay with us during your next trip in Budapest.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Good clean spacious hotel with great friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

Well located in the heart of Budapest. Close to all main attractions

Good clean room, excellent shower.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJNZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear AJNZ7,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was good to read that you enjoyed the excellent location and found our service also excellent. We were delighted to know that you would recommend us and look forward to welcoming you again.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A friend recommended us stay in this hotel. The location right on the fashion street Vaci street/pedestrian street is just prefect. Not that we do a lot of shopping, but it's lively. If you love shopping this is definitely the place. Shop at few shops then send back the shopping bags to the hotel and continue again. It really is right in the middle. It's also easy to find places to eat. We took the hop on hop off bus tour with the Big Bus Tour and one of the station is just near by (Deak Square). The hotel itself is just what we need after touring around from Salzburg to Munich then to Berlin. The bathroom has a shower AND a bath tub. The deco is outdated but I dont think it's a big deal. Front desk was helpful even though the checking in wasn't very smooth. Something was wrong with the key processing machine so they couldn't give us the key at the time but luckily we were allowed to get into our room first and they just deliver us the key 20 minutes later.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Akit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear K_Akit,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinion. You are right our hotel has the best location, we are in the pedestrian shopping area of the city center. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 334 in Budapest
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#76 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing