We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #102 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is excellently located. It is the standard Accor mid-range product.The room was on the small side. Staff excellent – when our car and driver forgot about us the concierge looked after the situation and got us a cab. One complaint – the air conditioning is almost ineffective. It was 30deg (celsius) during our stay and the room got very stuffy even with the temperature set at 10 and the fan to max. I’ve observed this at other Mercure/Novotel establishments as well. Pennypinching?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otiswallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear otiswallaby,
Thank you for staying with us and for the review. We are happy that you could take advantages of the very central location and found our staff excellent. You are correct that we are a small property but we are in the pedestrian Váci street in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    1,041
    468
    149
    62
See reviews for
325
1,032
106
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. two rooms on the 7th floor.
The location is the best. On the main shopping street.
Minutes from bus or tram.
The staff helped us a lot for booking a massages at Gellert spa.
We were allowed to leave the room at 15:00 instead of 12:00 for no extra charge.
The food was diversified, The staff made us hard-boiled egg (even thou it wasn't part of the buffet).
The only cons are the room size which weren't so big.

Room Tip: Location is the most important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear YS_IL,
Thank you for your very kind words. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you had wonderful interaction with our staff during your stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

stayed for 3 nights, with wife and 3 months old baby. requester a baby cot about a month before arrival and it was confirmed.
upon arrival we found in our room a baby cot in a terrible condition, torn and filled with brown (!!) stains!
on the other side, as soon as we went to the front desk and told them they immidietlly replaced it with what i think was a brand new cot, so all turned out great.

as for the hotel:
you cant get a better location!
the room is nice and pretty big, bed is low and has sharp edges so beware (i cut my leg..) but comfy.
as for other reviews, its true, the carpet is really stained and along with the bathroom needs refurbishing and a makeover..

all and all, for our needs, a decent hotel in the center, we were pleased.

because our flight was late at night we needed a late checkout (eanted to wash and get our baby ready) ant it cost us 10 euro for an hour (total 80 euros), i asked the front desk for some consideration (80 euros is a lot!) but they just wouldnt.. in my opinnion, they could have helped a little with that.

in my conclusion, a fair hotel, amazing location, i would stay again unless i find another resonble hotel in that location that looks good on tripadvisor.

by the way, breakfast is great!!

Room Tip: i think rooms 201-202 (our room 202) are destined for families with baby, so avoid if you dont eant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uri117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear uri117,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you were satisfied with the location and surroundings of the hotel. Our hotel has a very good location as you mentioned in your comment, located in the Váci street sorrounded by pedestrian area. We really regret that you were not satisfied with the carpet. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and we are currently investigating the matter of late check out as well. We hope that we will have the chance to better serve you in the near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I visited Budapest for a 5 days business trip. Mercure Budapest City Center was just OK, the room size was average to small. However the room was clean. In 5 days stay they did not change my bed linen though.

The only positive surprise was the breakfast, big variety of food there. As the hotel was full I had to queue for 10 mins in order to get a table though.

tip: In busy periods avoid a room in the top floor. The lifts are full and it may take more than 15 mins to reach the ground floor!

Room Tip: In busy periods avoid a room in the top floor. The lifts are full and it may take more than 15 mins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stam_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Stam_Brussels,
Many thanks for writing a review on your stay at Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very delighted to read your positive comments about the room cleanliness and breakfast. We had very high level of occupancy during your stay and that is why the elevators was going a little bit slower and in that case our guests can use easily the staircase as well. We sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the city and in our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Mercure is well situated, on the main street and close to everything that you might need either for business or as a tourist.
The room was OK but I have NEVER seen an hotel with such filthy carpets, both in the corridors and rooms.
It is not just that the carpets are dirty, they are covered in stains the origins of which I would rather not even think about.
Having to put your shoes on to walk from your bed to the bathroom is just too much. As if the soiled carpets were not enough there were dirty marks on the bedroom ceiling.
The staff were pleasant enough and helpful.
The breakfast was a con, I would defy anybody to eat €17 worth of the food on offer, it was simply very bad value.
If they let me know when they are getting new carpets I would stay again, until then I will avoid this hotel.

What could have been a nice stay ruined by the

Room Tip: Insist on one with a clean carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniledelinquent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear seniledelinquent78,
We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the location and especially with the staff. I already shared your positive feedback with our Team. Although our hotel has been refurbished in the past years, we will definitely include your comments into our next renovation plan. We sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the city and in our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Perhaps the location of this hotel will always render it attractive. it is on the lively Vaci Utca. It is a complete pedestrian zoned area and provides a kaleidoscope of throngs of humanity from all nations, souvenir shops and restaurants. It is a very big hotel, very close to the Liberty Bridge and a promenade along the Danube river right up to Parliament House which appears on most picture post cards.
About 50 yards from Vaci Utca, at Petofi Square 3 is Soul Kitchen which has just been opened and which has a promotion rate of 50% discount on all meals until 14 October 2005.
My wife and I have been travelling since 1 Settember, 20012. We can confidently say that this has been the best restaurant at which we have had dinner.
The restaurant has a superb decor, fine cutlery and a charming ambiance and it provides exquisite food.
Obviously after 15 October the 50% discount will cease because it will be untenable for the Management to provide 50% disount for ever but we believe that the standards of Soul kitchen will rise even higher. Our only recommendation is for Management to begin a vigorous campaign and advertise this restaurant.
We recommend Soul Kitchen to all those who wish to step out of the hustle and bustle of Vaci Utca
and enjoy typical Hungarian cuisine in a perfect ambiance at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: A comprehensive menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airamSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear airamSydney,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant, casinos and many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot from the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Budapest – to the city of senses.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 342 in Budapest
1,377 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#80 of 342 in Budapest
805 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing